What I ate today

I’m going to try to log my daily eats to help keep me honest and provide a reminder of the good (and bad) foods that are going into my body. 
Breakfast today was Cream of Wheat (a serving for both Chris and I) made with 1 cup of milk + 1 cup of water.  To add sweetness I tossed in some dried cranberries, a few drops of light butter syrup and a sliver of real butter.  Total calories, around 215.  I also made us some protein shakes.  We’re low on supplies so it was just 1/2 cup frozen bluberries, 1/4 almond flour for protein, spoonful of Metamucil, and 1 cup of milk.  Total calories?  345.  Rounded that out with a cup of coffee and a splash of milk.  

Lunch is 2 caramel corn rice cakes with 2 tablespoons of Trader Joe’s raw, unsalted almond butter: 230 calories.  And then Chance dog got to lick the knife.

Chance Dog.  He’s so cute.

For dinner, we made a household staple. Turkey spaghetti with round bread.  We just use lean, ground turkey breast, whole wheat spaghetti noodles and some canned sauce (usually Classico – traditional sweet basil).  I add garlic powder, red pepper flakes and an Italian seasoning blend to the turkey meat when I’m cooking it.  Super easy and super delicious.  For the round bread, we use half of a Portland Bakery foccacia, spray it with olive oil and sprinkle on some garlic powder, Italian seasoning and some sea salt.  Throw in in the oven at 400 degrees for 10 min.  Pretty healthy dinner and if we ate just one serving each we’d feel pretty good about ourselves.  But we both tend to eat more than we should.  This is definitely one of my “things to work on this year.” 
Leave a Reply

