Ahhh Saturday

Morning!  Today is a great lazy Saturday.  Tonight, we have my good friend Stephanie’s 30th bday dinner which I’m so excited for.  Although I’m a little nervous about the drinking thing.  I’m sitting atop the January Challenge leaderboard right now with two ladies 1 point behind me which means I lose 1 point and I’m knocked off the top (not to mention I’m going up to my best friend’s house next weekend for a ladies date so I know I’ll fall off the wagon then).  Anyway, tonight is going to be a long night without alcohol but we’ll see if I can do it.

For breakfast this morning I attempted “Overnight Oats.”  Peanut Butter fingers raves about this meal and it always looks so good when she eats it so last night I asked Chris if he wanted some (he did) so I prepped two servings (I doubled her recipe but in hindsight 2 people could have shared 1 serving):

I combined 12 ounces of non-fat, plain Greek yogurt, four tablespoons chia seeds, 1 + 1/3 cup oats, 1 tablespoon honey, and 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk  in a large bowl. Mixed it all up and put it in the fridge overnight.  I had high hopes for it because it tasted pretty good when I put it in the fridge.

Overnight Oats prep work

When we woke up this morning I talked to Chris about the overnight oats, telling him we eat them cold and he said that was weird, he only liked his oatmeal piping hot and could he have Cream of Wheat instead?  And a smoothie?  Sure.  So here’s his breakfast:

Cream of Wheat + protein smoothie

Back to my overnight oats… I took them out of the fridge and tried them. And then I decided I might not ever be having these again.  Peanut Butter Fingers adds more milk to them to help thin them out but mine didn’t need that.  The consistency was good but the texture was weird.  Too mushy.  And they were tart from the greek yogurt.  So I sliced up a banana, tossed in a little more honey and a spoonful of almond butter.  Which made them better.  But still kind of gross.

Overnight oats, banana, honey, almond butter = probably not

But because I’d put so much of our greek yogurt in there, I didn’t want to waste it.  So I ate them anyway.  Or tried to.  I made is 3/4 through  my bowl before I gave up.   Some people love overnight oats.  PB Fingers sure does.  But I just don’t think they’re for me.  While my breakfast was lackluster, I did enjoy some coffee and a cozy fireplace (thanks to Chris) and enjoyed our regular weekend routine of watching country music videos on CMT and Great American Country.

Yum

Baby Fireplace

Rest of the day plans?  Long walk around the neighborhood or into Multnomah Village + a Jillian workout video or mat Pilates.  Hopefully we can also take care of a few errands around the house like hanging up Chris’ Christmas presents (travel map + Tahiti pics) and then we’re off to celebrate Stephanie.

One thought on “Ahhh Saturday

  1. Pingback: Food day «

Leave a Reply

