Blueberry Almond Smoothie

Here’s the recipe for my current favorite smoothie. In my quest to find natural forms of protein, I’ve fallen in love with “Just Almond Meal” from Trader Joe’s. It’s basically ground up almonds. I’m pretty sure the primary use for it is as a flour but I think it tastes amazing in my smoothies. I bought this in my quest to find TJ’s Peanut Flour (3 different types are currently in the mail to me) and because discontinued their version I ended up with the Almond. It’s higher in calories and slightly lower in protein than I’d like for a supplement but I’ve found my adding in some non-fat greek yogurt, I can get the numbers up to where I want them:

Put all of these ingredients in a blender or Magic Bullet, blend and enjoy:

  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/4 Trader Joe’s Almond Meal (Bob’s Red Mill also sells Almond flour but I’ve heard it’s expensive)
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 tablespoon sugar-free orange flavored Metamucil (you could skip this or add in some flax seed meal)
  • 1/2 cup fat-free plain greek yogurt

Nutrition stats

  • 360 calories
  • 22 grams protein
  • 10 g fiber
  • 18.5 g fat (note 15 of this is coming from which means it’s monounsaturated fats, the same type of health-promoting fats as are found in olive oil, which have been associated with reduced risk of heart disease).

Blueberry Almond Smoothie

One thought on “Blueberry Almond Smoothie

Leave a Reply

