Vanilla Almond Protein Waffles

We have the day off today which means we get to change-up our regular breakfast routine from protein smoothies to something delicious.  Chris suggested waffles which sounded awesome but we were out of Bisquick.  No problem, this gave me the opportunity to try out some protein waffles.  I browsed the internet for a while to figure out the basics of the recipe and then came up with my own.  A little bit of trial and error but I think I landed on something tasty that will definitely go into my recipe file.

Waffles - yum

Vanilla Almond Protein Waffles

Servings: Approximately 8 waffles
Nutrition (per waffle): Approx 150 C and 15 G Protein

  • 1.5 C Old Fashioned Oats
  • 3 Eggs
  • 3 Egg whites
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 C Almond Meal/Flour
  • 2 scoops Sun Warrior vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 C non-fat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1-2 tablespoons cinnamon (depends on your taste preference)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • Non-fat Milk to desired consistency (I used about a tablespoon)

Mix all ingredients together.  I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer but dumping it all in a blender might even be easier.  I used a 1/4 c of batter for each waffle. These baked a little faster than regular Bisquick waffles so you’ll want to watch them in the waffle maker.  I think mine cooked for about 2 minutes?  Takes a little playing around.

Chris and I each had 2 waffles.  He put peanut butter on his while I chose almond butter.  Delish!  We’re freezing the leftover waffles for another weekend when we can pull them out and pop them in the toaster.

Waffles + Almond Butter

I’m working on our meal plan/grocery list for the week and generally enjoying a lazy day doing errands around the house.  Chris was up at the mountain from 8-6 yesterday so he’s a little sore and will just be taking Chance on a long walk for his exercise today while I’ll head to Zumba at 4:30.

Oh PS it was Chance’s 4th Birthday yesterday.  How cute is this guy?

Happy Birthday Chance

Leave a Reply

