One Awesome Lunch

Like I’ve mentioned before, I make a big batch of something for my weekly lunches.  It’s always a combo of black beans, corn and sweet potatoes/yams.  But I tend to get creative with the rest based on what I have in the house.  Well this week, I struck the jackpot.  I knew it was going to be good when I was mixing it all together last night (we had Monday off so it’s only a 4 day work week) but it was even better than I remembered when I had it for lunch today after Spin & Sculpt.  Delicious and filling.  Highly recommend it.

Black bean, Corn, Sweet Potato & Beet grain salad
Approximately 4 serving

350 calories, 13 G Fiber, 14 G Protein

  • 2 cups instant brown rice
  • 5 small beets (I use the Trader Joe’s pre-steamed ones)
  • 1 15 oz can of black beans
  • 1 15.25 oz can of sweet kernel corn
  • 1 large sweet potato or yam (I get whatever is on sale)
  • 1 oz Goat cheese or Goat Gouda
  • Fat Free Sour Cream
  • 1 tablespoon Olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon Garlic powder
  • Pinch of sea salt

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees

Peel and chop sweet potato into small pieces and pour into a glass backing dish.  Toss with olive oil, sea salt and garlic.  The potato should be coated with a light layer of oil.  I use my misto and spray on some additional olive oil if they look a little dry.  Roast in the oven for about 40 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the potatoes are soft.

While the sweet potatoes are roasting, cook the rice on the stove according to the package (could also do this in the microwave but my rice always tastes weird that way).  Drain and rinse the black beans & corn, chop the beets, and combine all of them with the brown rice in a large bowl.  Add cheese and mix it all together.  Once the sweet potatoes are done, mix them into the bowl with everything else.

You can enjoy immediately or put into smaller, single serving bowls for lunches during the week.  My bowls hold about 2 cups each, making this about a 4 serving batch.  I also topped each bowl off with a tiny bit of sour cream.  You could probably stretch this out to 5 servings if you had a little snack (apple) with it.

Beets, corn, beans, sweet potato

Leave a Reply

