Strangers on a train

Well, not really.  No strangers that I’m talking to anyway.  It’s just a David Nail song that’s been in my head all morning.

In case you couldn’t tell, I’m on a train right now heading to Seattle to spend the day with Kara, one of my best friends.  We actually haven’t hung out since my WEDDING!  which is totally crazy so we planned this girl’s weekend a while ago.  It almost didn’t happen with this snow and rain situation but luckily the train took off on time this morning and so far, no delays.  And the train has wifi which is nice.  I’ve cranked out a couple briefs, listened to some tunes… Should be there in less than an hour.

Tacoma Narrows Bridge from the train

Looking forward to hanging with my pal and finally meeting her little boy who just turned 1.  Can’t believe I still haven’t met him!  I’m also hoping I can keep myself in check on the eating/drinking situation.  I’ve been super happy with the numbers on scale this week and I just don’t want to ruin it.  We ended up at Journey’s last night (after attending a Seaside High school basketball game.  They won.  Go Gulls!) and because we’re in the mug club and a delicious cider was on draft I decided to give in and give up a point.  And then, because my train left at 8 this morning and I was assuming I wasn’t going to make it through the next 24 hours without a glass of wine (or 2) I decided I needed to stay up until midnight and get my 30 minutes of excercise done so I would only have to go back to work and write two 3’s on the board instead of a 3 and a 2.

We got home, turned on the rest of Pure Country 2 (don’t ever watch it.  Horrible.  Nothing like the original Pure Country), I set my timer and got to work on some pilates type exercises:

  • Hip Bridges
  • Hip Bridge Leg Lowers
  • Prone leg raises (laying on my back)
  • Prone lateral leg raises
  • Prone leg circles
  • Butterfly leg extensions
  • Bent knee extensions
  • Bent knee lateral extensions
  • Crunches
  • Reverse crunches
  • Pilates “side leg series”
  • Donkey Kicks (on hands and knees)
  • Leg circles (on hands and knees)
  • Leg raises (on hands and knees)
Leave a Reply

