Life

A friend’s mom passed away this morning unexpectedly. My heart and prayers are with her family. She and I were sorority sisters and even though we haven’t been that close over the past few years I was able to meet her mom a few times and experienced how great it must have been to grow up with her. My friend recently got married and thankfully experienced that day with her mom. But her recently engaged sister won’t get to. It makes me sad. It also makes me realize how fragile life is and serves as a great lesson about how not to sweat the small stuff. I am totally guilty of this. Worrying about little things when in the big picture I’m so freaking blessed to have my life. Great friends, amazing family, wonderful job, incredible adventures and a best friend to share it all with. Yesterday it was cloudy and rainy here and I was bummed that I wasn’t going to get that tan on my vacation. Learning about Sue this morning puts it all in perspective. Who cares if I’m not tan. At least I got to experience the rain.

Not to be a Debbie Downer or try and make Sue’s passing something about me. It’s not. I can’t imagine what her family is going through right now or what life will be like in the coming months or years. But I can try and learn a lesson from this. That life is short. With no guarantees and we all better be out there enjoying every single minute of it.

Here’s a quote from an unknown author left on the Caringbridge site for Sue:

“As we grow up, we learn that even the one person that wasn’t supposed to ever let us down, probably will. You’ll have your heart broken and you’ll break others’ hearts. You’ll fight with your best friend or maybe even fall in love with them, and you’ll cry because time is flying by. So take too many pictures, laugh too much, forgive freely, and love like you’ve never been hurt. Life comes with no guarantees, no time outs, no second chances. you just have to live life to the fullest, tell someone what they mean to you and tell someone off, speak out, dance in the pouring rain, hold someone’s hand, comfort a friend, fall asleep watching the sun come up, stay up late, be a flirt, and smile until your face hurts. Don’t be afraid to take chances or fall in love and most of all, live in the moment because every second you spend angry or upset is a second of happiness you can never get back.”

20120208-120327.jpg

Leave a Reply

