Organic Brown Rice Syrup = Arsenic?

So recently this article has been floating around the internet.  Basically some types of baby food, cereal bars and energy shots that are sweetened with organic brown rice syrup have been found to contain 6 more times of arsenic than the EPA considers safe.  I guess the 1st thing that comes to my mind is why is any level of arsenic ok?  I mean, isn’t that rat poison?  In all honestly, I probably don’t even want to know what the “safe” levels of some things are… Even though I try to eat clean and real, I’m sure I’m getting tons of things in my body that I would prefer not be there.  But I’m getting off topic.  Brown rice syrup.  Arsenic.  Gross.

Luckily I’m not eating baby food and I don’t have any babies I’m currently serving it to (Oh side note – a friend of mine recently started an organic baby food company.  Ladybug Organic Kitchen.  If you live in Seattle and have a baby you should check it out). But this does make me want to look around at some of the food I eat and make sure it’s not sweetened with brown rice syrup.  I already hate fake sugars – I avoid high fructose corn syrup, aspartame, splenda etc.  I hate the taste of some of the natural sugar substitutes like stevia and I’ve actually never tried agave nectar (which I know some people love), so I’m hoping I really don’t have anything with the brown rice in it.  What do I use for sweetner?  Real sugar or honey.

And all of this talk of bad stuff in processed foods reminds me of the Jillian Michaels Podcast from a few days ago.  She talks about fad diets.  Which she hates.  What’s her diet advice?  Count calories, eat real food, don’t eat processed crap, organic when possible, and exercise as much as you can.  Amen sister.  So simple.  For me, my family and most of my friends this is achievable.  We’re lucky to have great organic resources, enough money to afford them and access to great fitness facilities – be those gyms or the great outdoors.  But it make me so sad to think about all the people who can’t do these things.  Who don’t have the money, knowledge or resources.  It just sucks.  It’s not fair.  Organic food shouldn’t be the most expensive, PE and sports shouldn’t be the programs being cut in schools and portion sizes at most restaurants shouldn’t be double & triple what they were in my grandparent’s era.

Sorry.  Went on a bit of a rant there.  Anyway, go check your foods for organic brown rice syrup and listen to Jillian’s podcast if you want to be inspired.  That is all.

4 thoughts on “Organic Brown Rice Syrup = Arsenic?

  1. so did you find any of your foods that have the syrup in it? I have started reading the list of ingrediants in everything I buy….makes me sick when I see 10 different names of things I have no idea what they are but sound like they should be going in my car engine instead!

    • Nope, didn’t find anything in any of my stuff. Totally grosses me out all the stuff that’s in food. I have been playing around with protein/snack bars now to try and make my own so I’ll know what’s in them. I really just want to stop buying anything processed.

Leave a Reply

