Eight for ate

Today I ate eight servings of fruits and veggies. Well, technically 6 veggies and 2 fruit. This is a big deal. I try for at least 5 servings a day. Normally I can do 3-4, 5-6 on a good day. So when I counted everything up today I was pleasantly surprised. Here’s the breakdown:
Breakfast – smoothie with blueberries and spinach.

Lunch – quinoa, shrimp & chickpea salad with sweet peas, corn and cherry tomatoes
Dinner – chicken stir fry with green pea pods, red peppers and broccoli.

I also had dried cranberries in my protein bar snack but thinking that probably doesn’t count. And speaking of workouts…I got my butt kicked today. I did the 1st 30 min of a spin & sculpt class and then attempted a workout from PB Fingers. It was so hard! I wasn’t able to do the full weight for deadlifts (I did 30lbs), squats (I did 50lbs), and I only did 15 reps instead of 20 on my last set of ball hamstring curls. I’m not normally a quitter but I thought I was going to get a charlie horse. So I’ve made a goal to do this whole thing by my birthday which is in 2 months.

20120221-203448.jpg

20120221-203504.jpg

20120221-203515.jpg

20120221-203529.jpg

2 thoughts on “Eight for ate

  1. the chickpea salad looks awesome. I am going to have to make that soon but I am out of quinoa right now. I made quinoa mac & cheese from a pinterest recipe and it wasn’t that bad for you because there was only 1.5 cups of shredded cheese in a huge casserole. You prepare 1.5 cups of quinoa and add it to 2 egg whites and 1/2 cup of almond milk or whatever milk you use. I added sauteed zucchini and the cheese and some red pepper flakes and baked for 30 minutes. You could also add broccoli. It was yum! You can also put breadcrumbs on top but I don’t think that’s as healthy!

    • That sounds so good! I bet you could also add some shredded chicken to it? Chris won’t eat any dinner without some sort of meat. What do you bake it at? Like 350? I want to make it!

Leave a Reply

