Vanilla Coconut Protein Squares

vanilla coconut protein bar

I’ve been playing around with protein balls/bars to take to work and have right before I work out.  I don’t want to eat anything with weird stuff in it and it’s definitely been challenging trying to come up with something that tastes good and is good for me.  This concoction was the best I’ve come up with so far.  Still could be improved but they hold together better than some of my other bars and I made it through a workout yesterday and wasn’t hungry.  To me, these have a slight aftertaste from the stevia in the Sun Warrior protein powder.  If you don’t like stevia you might want to omit that or use a different protein powder.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 2 tablespoons shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1 serving dark chocolate chunks (can’t remember the exact amount – I bought a bag of dark chocolate chunks in the baking section and used whatever a serving was.  About a small handful.  It was the equivalent to 100 calories or so).
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 scoop vanilla Sun Warrior Protein Powder
  • 3 large egg whites

Directions:

Mix everything together.  I used my Kitchen-Aid stand mixer.  Press batter (will be on the drier side) into a greased (I used olive oil) 1.5 QT loaf pan.  Bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes.  The final product doesn’t look much different than the batter but I wanted to get the chocolate to melt.  Remove and let cool in pan.  Slice into 10 squares or 5 bars.  I usually eat two squares/1 bar before my workout.

Nutrition - 1 square

 

I wrapped 2 squares/1 bar individually in wax paper (total of 5 packages) and stored them all in a zip-lock bag in the fridge and then took them to work with me.  Now, I just pull out a pack and eat them before I go to the gym.  They are a little drier than I would have liked and you and distinctly taste the pumpkin seed but it works for me.  Next time I do these I’ll probably make in the food processor to grind up the seeds a bit more and probably use a second tablespoon of almond butter to make them a little chewier.

Dark chocolate is good for you so it's ok right?

3 cute little squares

Leave a Reply

