Cooking with Chris: Scratch Spaghetti

So Chris made dinner tonight while I walked the Chance dog.  About a week ago he found out he has a broken sesamoid bone in his foot so he’s suppose to take it easy.  While I love my little doggy pal, sometimes when it’s cold and rainy out I don’t get that jazzed to walk him.  But tonight we managed to make it through the normal 20 min loop without much rain and I got to walk into an amazing smelling kitchen.

We make turkey spaghetti all the time.  It’s one of our staples.  But this week, during the weekly grocery list making Chris said he wanted to make the sauce from scratch.  Whoo hoo.  Music to my ears.  One less processed food in our kitchen (and bodies).  Since he was motivated to make the sauce from scratch it made me realize we could make this entire dinner from scratch if only I’d whip up some homemade salad dressing.  Making your own dressing is so easy but most of the time I’m just lazy and don’t do it.  But luckily, I found a super easy recipe over on my friend Elyse’s blog, Fresh Habits.

Let me tell you, everything tonight was FANTASTIC.  I don’t know if it was that all the flavors just combined perfectly or that I knew I wasn’t putting gross chemicals into my body, but man-oh-man.  Yum.

Italian Pumpkin Seed Salad: (adapted from this)

Mix together the below.  I put everything in a mason jar with a lid and shook it all together.  Mason jars just make everything better. I poured the dressing over some spinach, cherry tomatoes and then tossed on some pumpkin seeds.

  • Equal parts olive oil and balsamic vinegar
  • spoonful of Dijon mustard
  • teaspoon honey

From scratch dressing

Spicy Basil Turkey Spaghetti:

Mix together the below.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 10 min and add 1 package of browned, lean ground turkey breast. Simmer for 10 more minutes.    Pour sauce over whole wheat spaghetti noodles and sprinkle on some shredded parmesan cheese.   This will make about 4 servings.  We definitely go light on the noodles, heavy on the sauce.  I’m thinking it could also be good to toss in some broccoli for extra veggie power.

  • 1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes (FYI it would be healthier to buy fresh and chop them or find some in a glass container.  Cans are bad and can have BPA but I’m taking it one step at a time here).
  • 1 6 oz can tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup chopped, fresh basil
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • To taste – Italian seasoning, red pepper flakes and granulated garlic (we used a lot of red pepper flakes)
  • Pinch of salt

From scratch spaghetti

Oh and a random note.  My hands are super sore.  I was motivated by a challenge the contestants had to do on The Biggest Loser last night and decided to try my hand (literally) at rowing 10,000 meters.  Last night on the show I thought it couldn’t have been that challenging and would only take about 40 minutes.  Well, I was wrong.  It took me 62.  I wouldn’t say the whole thing was all that challenging from an endurance/cardio level.  I could have kept going but my butt was so sore from the unpadded seat and my hands started blistering up like crazy.  Anyway.  If you’re up for a challenge, there you go.

3 thoughts on “Cooking with Chris: Scratch Spaghetti

  1. Pingback: Hopefully I can walk tomorrow |

Leave a Reply

