Chocolate Chunk Protein Cookies

Lots o chocolate

So last week I was craving sugar like a crazy woman.  I have a huge sweet tooth so craving sugar is not totally abnormal around here but last week it was out of control.  Like I’d start craving it after lunch and the craving basically wouldn’t go away until in a huge moment of weakness last Thursday I ended up eating massive amounts of Reese peanut butter sticks and a huge bag of caramel corn.  And then I basically fell into a sugar coma.  Not a proud moment.  Thank goodness that sugar splurge seemed to have calmed things down.  I don’t know what was going on but even Chris was craving sugar and he never wants it. It was weird.  It was almost like a magical sugar fairy flew over the house one night and accidentally dumped a bunch of dust over our house or something… Hopefully I made it through the worst of it but just in case, I wanted to create some sort of protein snack that included dark chocolate to proactively kill that sugar bug.

After browsing around for some protein cookie recipes, I landed on this one.  It sounded easy enough and I had all the ingredients here.  I doubled her recipe and then because I didn’t have enough honey, subbed in some greek yogurt.  I also tossed in dried cranberries, chia seeds and dark chocolate.  I put a cup of chopped dark chocolate in here and I actually think they’re too chocolatey. (Seriously I might go into sugar shock after one of these).  1/4 to a 1/2 cup would probably be just as good.  I also think it would be great to add 1-2 mashed bananas to make them a little more moist.  We didn’t have any so these are a tad on the drier side but still tasty.

I’m still debating when I’m going to eat these.  Normally I have a protein snack pre-workout but my sugar craving is striking at 3pm so thinking I’ll do an apple before heading to the gym and save these bad boys for my after lunch dessert.  I tossed them all in the freezer to hopefully prevent me from constantly snacking on them.  I’ll bring one to work each day and if I try to dig into them at home at least I’ll have some time to think about whether or not I really need them while they thaw.

And now I’m off to the grocery store to get groceries for the week.  Should be a pretty cheap bill since I went to Costco yesterday and picked up most of our meats and other essentials.

Chocolate Chunk Protein Cookies:
Mix together the ingredients below.  Form into balls.
Bake for 15 minutes @ 350 degrees.
10 g protein, 8 g sugar, 135 calories, 5 g fat, 17 g carbs, 3 g fiber (based on calculations at myfitnesspal.
Makes 24 cookies.

  • 1/3 c honey
  • 1 c non-fat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 c dried cranberries
  • 1 c coarsely chopped dark chocolate
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 3 c old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c ground pumpkin seeds
  • 1&1/3 c vanilla protein powder ( I used Sun Warrior Vanilla)

Yum

Melty goodness. Swoon

Into the freezer they go

Leave a Reply

