Weekend Roundup

Here’s how the weekend broke down:

Friday – I had the day off work so I got to sleep in, go to acupuncture, watch basketball and then greet my best friend when she got here from Seattle.  I love Chelsea.  We were roommates in college, she’s my sorority little sister, the Maid of Honor in my wedding and I was privileged to be the Matron of Honor in hers.  But she lives in Seattle and we don’t get to hang out in person as often as we should.  In fact, we hadn’t hung out since her wedding in August.  No good.  Waaaaay too long to go without seeing your best friend.  We caught over over coffee, shopping at Homegoods and Trader Joes before heading out to dinner at Verde Cocina, a new Mexican place near my house I’ve been wanting to try.

Besties

Delicious Marg

After dinner we headed over to Journey’s for dessert – butterscotch blond brownie with vanilla ice cream.  Yum.  Plus blackberry pear cider.

Saturday after breakfast we headed out to do some shopping and grabbed lunch at The Cheesecake Factory after – we did good and only ordered salads with no cheesecake.  Chels headed back to Seattle in the afternoon and even though it was a short visit, it was a good one.  Sometimes you just need good, quality time with your girlfriends.  I love being married to Chris and Chelsea loves being married to Ben but it’s nice to get to spend time with another wife and talk about you lives – reminiscing about crazy stories back in college while in the next moment talking about ways to cook brussel sprouts.  Chels, if you’re reading this, I’m so glad you’re my bestie and can’t wait to share many more life stories and girlfriend weekends with you.  Can’t wait to get crafty next time I come up :)

After Chelsea left, Chris and I headed to the Rosegarden to watch some basketball.  His boss got a suite for his team and there were extra tickets so I got to go.  I love basketball, and I especially love March Madness so this was just a great way to spend a Saturday night.  Chris’ co-workers are awesome and it was great hanging out with them and we got to see some super close games.

View from the suite

After the games we headed over to Journeys’ (of course) because tonight was the conclusion of their 5 year anniversary party (and St. Patrick’s Day).  Journey’s really does feel like our version of Cheers.  We know the regulars and all the owners.  Everyone knows our names and our drink orders.

Today was lazy.  Basically spent the day watching basketball on the couch.  I did plan out our meals for the week and took Chance on a 3 mile walk through Gabriel Park.  It was beautiful.  And while the weekend was a ton of fun it was not filled with very much exercise.  It felt good to give my body a rest but I’m excited to get back into it tomorrow.

Menu for the week

The park this afternoon

Leave a Reply

