Guess who likes brussels sprouts?

Well, it’s not Chris if that’s what you were thinking.  It’s me.

Brussels Sprouts

See, I’d had brussels sprouts only once before.  It was at a friends Thanksgiving dinner and someone brought them as a side.  I had heard all my life about how gross brussels sprouts were (you know you hear those stories of poor kids who’s mom made them eat them??).  Anyway, I tried them and thought they were pretty good.  They didn’t jump out at me as being amazing but I put them up in the vault as a veggie I’d need to try to make.  Fast forward to last weekend when Chelsea was here and as we were talking about food and dinners she told me that she and Ben eat brussels sprouts all the time.  Lightbulb.  I knew I was going to have to try them. She gave me a super easy recipe so after hunting around the produce section for a while, I picked up a bag at the store on Sunday and actually got excited about making them.

Not Chris.  He knew that one of our meals this week was going to have brussels sprouts and he was dreading it.  Especially after I put kale in his favorite dinner. So I made him a deal.  I’d make broccoli for him, brussels sprouts for me and all he had to do was try a few.  Done.

And I’ll be honest, I was a little nervous about the dinner.  I found the chicken recipe on Pinterest, tried out a new quinoa from Trader Joe’s and was making brussels sprouts for the 1st time.  There was a huge potential for failure.  Especially the sprouts.  I was a little scared to try my first bite… what if I actually hated them?  How would I ever get Chris to try them?  But luckily I had nothing to worry about.  The chicken and quinoa were great and the brussels sprouts were amazing.  I love them.  Like could not get enough of them. Eating them out of the pan (nearly burning my mouth) and almost licking my plate.  Turns out, I freaking love brussels sprouts.  And Chris surprised me because he didn’t hate them.  That’s a win in my book.

I love this guy even more for trying my crazy recipes

Here’s how it all came together:

Grilled Honey Mustard Chicken from here.
I only used 2 chicken breasts so I halved the mustard and honey but left all the listed spices (we like our food SPICY).  And we didn’t have lemon juice so I left that out.  I made the marinade the night before and let the chicken sit overnight in the fridge.  And then because we’re still in the middle of winter here (hi snowstorm), I cooked the chicken on the griddler.

Organic tricolor quinoa from TJ’s
Halved the amount of quinoa, used chicken stock instead of water and then followed the rest of the directions on the bag.

Kind of looks like sand

Broccoli (for Chris)
Steamed in a steamer basket on the stove.  Added a little parmesan cheese.

Brussels Sprouts (from Chelsea)
Peel off outer leaves, just one layer.  Chop big ones into halves or quarters.  Put 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a saute pan (I also added in some granulated garlic but actual cloves would be better, we just didn’t have any).  Toss in sprouts and saute for 2-3 minutes until brown. Add in 1/4 cup chicken stock, put lid on pan and “steam” for another 2-3 minutes.  Season with a little salt and pepper.

Veggie goodness

I seriously cannot wait to make these again.  I bought a big bag and definitely did not eat them all last night. Pretty sure next week will be “fun with sprouts week.”

And in case you were wondering, here’s some stats about this veggie from the cabbage family.

Leave a Reply

