Reasons why Oregon is amazing

My brother and his girlfriend came down from Olympia this weekend to visit so we wanted to do something fun with them and decided to go snowshoeing.  We lucked out with the most amazing weather!  It was so freaking beautiful out.  I just couldn’t believe it.  It was one of those perfect days where it just makes me appreciate where I live so much.  The sun was shining and the air was so fresh.  I could have stayed outside forever.

Beyond being an incredibly scenic hike, it was also an amazing workout.  Snowshoes really force you to fire muscles you wouldn’t think about – your quads and hamstrings have to work to keep you stable over all the uneven paths, your shoulders/arms are burning from digging your poles into the snow, and I even felt my abs trying to keep myself upright. And lets not forget the super steep hill you had to climb up to get back to the parking lot.  Killer.  But I loved it.  Overall, it was about a 4.5 mile hike and my fuel band said I burned about 900 calories!

Leave a Reply

