Better in a mason jar

Did you know I almost named this blog “Jars of Mason?”  Yup, even had the URL and everything.  See, I love mason jars.  I know they’re pretty trendy right now but I’ve loved them forever.  Seriously.  I’m not just saying that so it looks like I’m not jumping on the vintage train bandwagon.  I ate homemade canned peaches and strawberry jam when I was little and since then they’ve always reminded me of good things.  Now, I’ll admit we had them at our wedding as decorations, but we also actually served beer and wine in them (16 oz for beer, 8 oz jars for wine… however things got a little nuts when people started using the beer jars for wine but that’s another story).  Speaking of beer, any bar that serves it in a mason jar automatically gets a gold star.

Because we had quite a few jars leftover from the wedding they’ve actually become our primary cups/glasses/drinking jars and I love it.  Not sure what it is exactly but something about drinking out of a mason jar is just better (not to mention, glass jars do not contain BPA)  Not sure if it’s the thickness of the rim or what.  But they make the beverage that much more enjoyable which is especially helpful when drinking water.  We all know you’re suppose to drink at least 64oz of water a day (8 glasses @ 8oz each) and I’ve found I crush that amount by drinking out of my jar.  See, I carry around a 32 oz jar everywhere! I have one at home and one at work.  And trust me, I’ve gotten my fair share of strange looks (and plenty of comments about moonshine) when I walk into a meeting carrying a giant jar of water.  But it works.  My goal is always to drink 3 jars at work and 1 jar at home for a total of 120+ oz of water and I’m pretty good about hitting it.  And while people initially thought it was strange, I’ve brought jars in to at least 3 of my coworkers and even Chris brought one to work to drink from.  You can also make them portable by putting on the canning jar lids (and now this company is selling plastic lids but I haven’t bought into this, feels too hipsterish for me).  The only place I don’t take them is to the gym, glass and workout equipment makes me nervous.

Water

Anyway, over the weekend I made smoothies for 4 people instead of 2 and we didn’t have enough of our normal magic bullet cups so I poured them into mason jars and I’m pretty sure the smoothie instantly tasted better.  Seriously.  There is just something about mason jars.  This is our standard smoothie right now, I checked my recipes and realized I haven’t posted this one yet.  So tasty and about 30 grams of protein.

Peanut Butter Blueberry Smoothie:
Mix the below together.  Pour into a mason jar. Serves 1.

  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup plain, non fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup vanilla unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 c protein plus peanut flour
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax meal

PB Blueberry smoothie

And because mason jars make me think about all things country and I also referenced moonshine in this post, thought I’d share a song by my favorite country artist Jake Owen all about (apple pie) moonshine. Hope you love this song as much as I do.

8 thoughts on “Better in a mason jar

    • Thanks! I like to think I was being super original for our wedding, or at least ahead of the curve a bit. Now I see mason jars in weddings everywhere.

  1. thanks for participating in the challenge! i love pouring my smoothies in jars too. it’s one of the ways i take oatmeal and overnight oats to go as well!

    • Thanks, loving the challenge. It’s motivating me to try new concoctions. Today I even switched up my normal blueberry smoothie and did bananas, PB and spinach to actually make it look green.

  2. I too love Mason Jars! Growing up thats all we had for glasses so I grew up using them for nearly everything. To me they’ve always been trendy ;-)

Leave a Reply

