Carrots in my smoothie??!! + other daily eats

So I joined a 7 day green smoothie challenge that Jen from Peanut Butter Runner is coordinating and yesterday I posted my standard smoothie recipe.  Today I wanted to change things up so I made a peanut butter, banana, spinach and carrot smoothie.  Yes, carrot.  I bought some organic shredded carrots (you read correctly, I am too lazy to shred my own carrots) for a recipe I may or may not make this week and when I was in the fridge grabbing other smoothie supplies I saw the carrots.  I know this is a green smoothie challenge and I definitely greened it up with spinach but I’d like to think that adding in additional veggies is still a good thing, even if they’re not green.  Turns out you couldn’t even taste the carrots!  Chris is gone this week but I’m thinking I might try and sneak them in to smoothies next week without him noticing.

PB Banana Carrot Smoothie (serves 1)
Blend the below ingredients, pour in a jar, drink.

Hurried pic on the iphone on the way out the door this morning.

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 non fat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 2 tablespoons flax meal
  • 1/4 protein plus peanut flour (could also use regular peanut or almond butter)

For my pre-gym snack I had two deviled eggs.  Healthy tip – use greek yogurt instead of mayo when mixing up the filling (I used greek yogurt, egg yolk, spicy mustard, and paprika).

Deviled egg

Lunch was spinach, roasted yams, black beans, sunflower seeds and goat cheese.  No dressing because I couldn’t figure out what would taste good.

Lunch

I had an afternoon snack of non fat plain greek yogurt with a variety of cereal (Kashi go lean crunch, and some bran buds), dried cranberries and almonds. But I only ate half of it.  I think I’m burnt out on yogurt.

Too much yogurt

Dinner was garlic roasted brussels sprouts and broccoli (chopped garlic clove, sea salt and pepper all mixed up and tossed with olive oil.  Roasted at 350 for 25 min).   And leftover scratch spaghetti (I added in some sour cream for a little extra zest).

I love green veggies

For my workout today I did Zumba.  According to my Fuel band  burned 650 calories and earned 2000 fuel points in one class! I love all the cardio but hate how it makes my knees feel.  Hopefully they aren’t too sore in the morning.

Tomorrow I’m going to try another new smoothie.  Unfortunately my “greens” are pretty limited to spinach.  I even went to the store after work to get spirolina but couldn’t find any… I also thought about doing a mint smoothie but not sure if mint can be characterized s something green?

7 thoughts on “Carrots in my smoothie??!! + other daily eats

  1. I just recently discovered Greek yogurt myself and love it! I will definitely give the deviled eggs a try. Mayo is something I have denied myself for some time. Love the taste of it, but the calories are just too much when you are trying to lose weight. On a different note, I love the look of the pictures in your blog. Were all the photos taken with an iPhone? Have a great day! I’m off to check out the Peanut Butter Runner.

    • I’m with you. I love mayo (is that gross?) but I know it’s worthless calories so I try to cut it out as best I can but sometimes a turkey sandwich with mustard just isn’t as good as one with mayo…FYI my fave greek yogurt is the Costco/Kirkland brand. I love the consistency and the price can’t be beat. Thanks for the picture compliment. I take them with either my iphone or my Cannon Rebel DSLR camera (which I’m still learning how to use). Anything on my iphone I usually edit with the Instagram app. It lets you do all sort of fun edits.

  2. Pingback: Oh Home Depot I am not a fan |

Leave a Reply

