Oh Home Depot I am not a fan (but I am a fan of my tasty green smoothie)

We had Home Depot install 3 new windows in our house about 3 years ago.  We’d checked around, read reviews and felt pretty good about the whole process.  Home Depot has always been our go-to spot so we had no reservations about them also doing our windows.  On the day of the installation, 2 (Russian ?) dudes who spoke very little english came out and installed them.  I was the one who had to work from home that day and trusted that they did everything correctly.  And while our new windows looked good, our window sills looked like crap.  Totally had cracks and jagged cuts from where they had to take the old ones out.  Great.  So I call up HD, work from home on another day where they come out and nail some wood strips over the cracks.  Gee thanks.  Pretty sure I could have done that myself.

Fast forward to a year or so later and I start to notice mold in one of our bedroom windows.  Not cool.  Call Home Depot, stay home from work, they send another guy out (maybe it was the same one?) who tells me there is nothing wrong with my window and that I’m getting mold because  1, my dog(!) is getting up on the chair and breathing on them (um, my dog has never gotten up on a chair in his life) and 2, my bathroom fan (which is in a totally different room) is not working well enough and causing condensation from my shower to affect my bedroom.  He told me to get some mildew remover and I’d be fine.  Cool.  Strike 2.

A couple of months go by and we notice a puddle of water on the windowsill of the family room window.  Call Home Depot, work from home again.  Meet another (Russian ?) guy who tells me something is wrong with a seal and they need to fix it.  And oh by the way, the bedroom window also has a leak (guess my dog isn’t breathing that hard after all).  Work from home for another day while more guys come out to cut some stuff out, add more caulk and promise me things are fixed.

Oh but wait.  A couple of weeks ago Chris finds a huge puddle of water on the family room window.  Great.  This time he takes time off work, Home Depot sends out a dude who tells him they need to completely remove two of our windows, put on some flashing and then re-install them.  Could this get any better?  Oh it could, they can’t actually come out to fix it for a least two weeks.  Thanks.  I’ll just keep a towel on our window sill to soak up the rain.

And that takes us to today.  The 5th time one of us has had to stay at home and deal with this.  Chris was out of town so it was my turn.  And of course, 2 more (Russian ?) guys come and one does not understand english at all and I basically have to yell at him a million times to please not open my fence because my dog is in there.  But of course, traipse through my house with your muddy clothes instead.  I explain the situation, that they’re suppose to completely reinstall the windows.  And he says.  No, they don’t need that.  There are just some cracks and they need new caulk. But no matter how much I argue with him he tells me this will fix the problem.  Sounds like something I’ve heard before.

So I’ve sat here all morning while strange dudes rip, cut and glue things for what feels like the millionth time.  And the best part?  From all the water damage, my once beautiful windowsills are super jacked.  Cracked paint, warped wood… I’ve left a message with Home Depot Home Services to see if I can get any compensation to help repair them but haven’t heard back yet.

The one benefit of working from home is that I can still be in my pajamas even though it’s noon.  I got up early and did a couple Jillian Michael’s DVDs (level 3 of 30 Day Shred and level 1 of Killer Buns & Thighs) and I might need to do something else later to work off some steam.  I wish I had a punching bag right now.

Chance is also annoyed by all of this.

On the plus side, my green smoothie today was so tasty! In fact, I think it’s been my favorite of the week.  I essentially took yesterday’s mix and got rid of the carrots and sweet potatoes.

Banana Almond Smoothie
Serves 1. Mix everything.  Enjoy.

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup non fat plain greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 2 tablespoons rice protein powder
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 tablespoon flax seed
  • 1 & 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

2 thoughts on “Oh Home Depot I am not a fan (but I am a fan of my tasty green smoothie)

Leave a Reply

