Can’t beat the classics

Well hello there and happy Saturday to you.  Did you know that here in Oregon we’re about 1/2 an inch away from beating the rainfall record for March in Portland?  No bueno.  I was hoping to actually get outside and do something active this weekend but that is not going to happen. So instead, we’re spending the day here being lazy.  Protein smoothie & coffee for breakfast, CMT top 20 countdown on TV and computer time – me on the blog, Chris researching house stuff…our standard weekend morning routine.  Love.

And because I was writing on my phone last night, I’ll run though a little recap of the past two days.

Green Smoothie Challenge day 5 (Friday breakfast) – I was inspired by Jen’s recipe and decided to add some caffeine to my protein.  This one was tasty but it left a weird aftertaste in my mouth.  Probably won’t do it again.

PB Banana Coffee smoothie
Serves 1.  Mix the below together and drink.

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 cup non fat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup coffee (I saved the leftover coffee from the day before and let it cool in the fridge overnight)
  • 1/2 unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/4 cup protein plus peanut flour

For my weight circuit yesterday I headed back in the vault and pulled out a classic.  When I was a sophomore in college I lived at home and went to a Jr. College so that I could be around the 1st year of my baby sister’s life.  And because I really had no life that year outside of my family time, I spent a lot of time at the gym and started working out with a personal trainer named Swede.  He was awesome.  Big guy, power lifting champ.  If you life in Olympia, WA I highly recommend hunting down this guy.  Anyway, he had a workout he’d run me through which I loved then and still love to this day.  I tend to always fall back on it when I need a good all over body routine.

The Swede Classic
Using 10 pound dumbbells go through this circuit 3 times with minimal rest between each move.

  • Weight bench step ups (20 on each leg)
  • 15 squats
  • 15 sumo squats
  • 15 deadlifts
  • 10 lateral raises
  • 10 front raises
  • 10 bent arm lateral raises
  • Single arm tricep extensions (12 on each arm)
  • 10 shoulder presses

And after that, I did 3 sets of leg presses with 45 lbs on each side.  And then finished up with a diamond set of low rows.  12 reps at 55 lbs, 15 reps at 40 lbs and 20 reps at 25 lbs.

I discussed lunch in yesterday’s post and dinner ended up being another classic.  I whipped up my favorite shrimp, goat cheese and broccoli pasta.  So good.

We ended up at Journey’s with some friends later in the evening and killed my second keg (such a rush).  But because they messed up somehow in the scoring one of Chris’ kills is under my name so I’m actually up on the board in 2nd place with 3 kills.  Seriously I think something is wrong with me that I get this excited about drinking the last beer in a keg.  I did pretty good only 2.5 drinks.  But I did come home and have some cinnamon toast.  There’s just something about coming home and eating when I get home from a bar.  I really need to stop that.

This morning my green smoothie wasn’t so green but it was one of my favorites.  This is pretty much our standard smoothie but because Chris and I both have it I usually make it with half almond milk and half non-fat milk (he hates almond milk).  But we were out of the NF so it was a little sweeter than normal.

PB Blueberry (green?) smoothie:
Serves 2

  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 cup non fat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup protein plus peanut flour
  • 2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 4 tablespoons flax meal

And there you go.  That takes me to right now.  Noon.  We’re going to head to the gym in about an hour.  I’ll probably just do straight cardio and abs.  I’m thinking 30 min on the bike + 30 min on the elliptical.  This afternoon we’ll be watching some March Madness which I’m now super invested in because if Ohio State makes it to the final game I’ll win my work pool!  Go Buckeyes! Tonight should hopefully be pretty low key.  Turns out the 2nd season of Texas Women is on CMT.  We loved it last season so it will be great to see what the ladies are up to now.  Wild night around here :)

 

One thought on “Can’t beat the classics

Leave a Reply

