125 push-ups

As I was doing Jillian Michaels’ Extreme Shed and Shred this afternoon I realized my arms were super sore.  So I thought back to yesterday’s workout and then I realized I did 125 pushups.  125!  That’s a lot.  Now I’ll admit that only 25 were real push-ups the rest were girl (knee) versions which I’m not super proud to admit but still.  I did a lot of push-ups.  I was watching The Biggest Loser the other week and Bob Harper came on to give one of his trainer tips and said that if you’re ever somewhere without a gym, like on vacation, that you could do 25 jumping jacks, 25 push-ups and 25 situps – 5 times – and that would be a pretty good workout. I didn’t feel like there was quite enough lower body in that so I added in 25 squats and at the very end of it all, did 3 sets of 20 (per leg) step ups and I would agree that it was a decent little circuit.  I certainly don’t think I’d feel good if that was all I ever did for exercise but I could see it coming in handy when you’re staying in a hotel room.

After the gym yesterday we did our weekly grocery shopping.  Our meals for the week look like this:

  • Sunday – Papa Murphy’s pizza
  • Monday – Crockpot Chili and cornbread
  • Tuesday – leftover chili
  • Wednesday – leftover chili
  • Thursday – Blackened chicken with cilantro lime rice and avocado yogurt sauce
  • Friday – Chicken penne pasta
  • Saturday – not sure, maybe go out…

And we also picked up ingredients to make hummus.  I’ve been wanting to make my own hummus for so long but I’d been worried that it would be too hard.  Wrong.  It was so easy!  We will never buy hummus again.

This recipe is courtesy of my friend Elyse and her blog, Fresh Habits. I used it exactly but tossed in an entire jalapeno (seeds and all) for spice.  Apparently we like things super spicy over here because it still wasn’t hot enough for us. Blend everything in a food processor, chill and enjoy.

  • 1 ½ cups chickpeas
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3 tbs olive oil
  • 3 tbs water
  • Juice from half a lemon
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • ¼ tsp paprika
  • ¾ tsp sea salt

Yum

We spend the afternoon watching basketball and I was 2 points away from winning $270. No thank you very much Ohio State.  And the night wouldn’t be complete without a stop at Journeys.  We actually spent the entire night with the owner and closed the place down.

Gosh, I’m behind. This was just the rest of my Saturday.  I still have all of Sunday to fill you in on but the pizza just got out of the oven and the Academy of country Music awards are on.  Blogging can wait :)

6 thoughts on “125 push-ups

    • Yeah, I was a little nervous about the recipe but it was great. I should have doubled it because we devoured it. Let me know what you think if you make it.

    • Let me know how you like it. I couldn’t believe how easy it was, and so much cheaper than buying it at the store. Next time we might try adding roasted red peppers or maybe sun dried tomatoes.

  1. are you kidding me? Eating chili for three nights does not happen in my home due to my giant boyfriend. We would have leftovers once TOPS. I have some stories to tell about how much this man eats! So, I cook every night unless I make something like Chili that has leftovers. Even pasta we do not have leftovers!

    I tried your green banana smoothie with almond butter, flax, milk, ect….one a few posts back. I used kale instead of Spinach. I’m planning on blogging about it soon but I’ve been so behind on blogging!

    • That’s funny. We don’t usually have leftovers unless it something in the crockpot. And then I feel like we’re eating it for days. We’ll see if we make it 3 days this time. His parents might be coming over for dinner tonight so might cut down on things a bit. But yeah, overall Chris does not eat that much. I think I eat more than him! Can’t wait to read the smoothie post. I made one yesterday with actual PB (which I never do) and I was in love.

Leave a Reply

