My home gym might really happen

Morning.  Happy Monday :)  It’s sunny here and rumor has it the temps might get up to 60 today.  I feel a run in my future.

So I mentioned here that I really want a home gym but I still wasn’t actually sure if it would ever happen.  But then Chris broke a bone in his foot and started to enjoy the spin bike which got us talking a little more seriously about it.  It would be so nice for us to have some sort of cardio equipment that we could use on the weekends or on days we weren’t going to be able to get to the gym during the day (that did not involve my knees and his foot).  So we started researching bikes.  And yesterday we went into a couple stores to price them out.

We walked in to Exercise Equipment NW which I’ve driven by many times but never actually went in.  Turns out it’s the best store ever.  Like I was a little kid in a candy store but my candy was gym equipment.  It had EVERYTHING!  Treadmills, bikes, weight benches, floor mats… I can’t even explain how much I loved being in this store.  And as Chris and I were chatting to the sales clerk telling him why we were there, I realized we’re probably his dream shoppers, “Oh we’ve decided to turn our office into a gym.”  Haha.  No big deal.

Anyway, we found a bike that we really like, the LIVESTRONGLS9.9IC Indoor Cycle.  It gets pretty good reviews and it’s on sale right now.  We priced it out at Dick’s sporting goods as well and the prices are the same but we really liked the feeling of Exercise Equipment NW and would probably buy it there.  However, it’s pricy.  And normally we’d have the money but we have to pay the IRS this year which sucks!!  1st time it’s ever happened.  So we’re looking at finances and seeing if we could make the bike work.  It’s on sale until the 16th and it’s such a good price.  We’d hate to miss out. But going into debt for a spin bike is probably not the best decision.

Source

We also looked around at treadmills because that would be the next piece of equipment to go into the gym.  We found out Livestrong also makes one of those and we were thinking it would be pretty cool to have a matching Livestrong gym.  I haven’t done any research on this though so not sure how good it is.  My dream treadmill is by Precor but it’s $5000 so that probably won’t be happening any time soon.This is the LIVESTRONG LS10.0T Treadmill.

Source

So yeah, fun day.  We’ll see if anything actually happens but it’s fun to dream. The rest of Sunday was pretty chill.  I did Jillian Michaels’ Extreme Shed and Shred and out of all her DVD’s this is the one I like the least.  Instead of her usual 3 minute of strength, 2 minutes of cardio and 1 minute of abs, this is broken into 2, 30 min workouts that have more of a focus on body weight training than weight or cardio.  She calls it a “fusion” workout but I don’t know.  I think part of it is because it goes pretty fast and I still don’t have it all figured out.  I’m not giving up on it yet but it’s just hard to ever want to do this one over tried and true faves like 30 Day Shred and Ripped in 30.

We treated ourselves to pepperoni pizza from Papa Murphy’s.  We use to always have pizza Sunday night.  It was our thing.  But we’ve gotten a lot better and have it once a month?  It’s so freaking good though.  We almost ate an entire large.  Whoops (FYI the scale reminded me of my dinner choice this morning.  Eek.  No good).

Oh and FYI I know I still haven’t posted all my green smoothies.  I did compete the 7 day challenge.  I just haven’t had time to write about them.  I’ll be cranking out a post that sums up all 7 of them. Get excited.  Sunday’s smoothie may have been my favorite.

And because it’s always good to get a little motivation on a Monday, here’s something I found on Pinterest that I enjoy.  Hope you do too.

Image Source

2 thoughts on “My home gym might really happen

Leave a Reply

