Green Smoothie Challenge Recap

Alright, here you go.  As I mentioned I was participating in the green smoothie challenge and it was delicious.  We have smoothies every day for breakfast so this wasn’t a big change-up but it did force me to try some new recipes.

Monday
Peanut Butter Blueberry Smoothie
:
Mix the below together.  Pour into a mason jar. Serves 1.

  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup plain, non fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup vanilla unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 c protein plus peanut flour
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax meal

PB Blueberry smoothie

Tuesday
PB Banana Carrot Smoothie
(serves 1)
Blend the below ingredients, pour in a jar, drink.

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 non fat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 2 tablespoons flax meal
  • 1/4 protein plus peanut flour (could also use regular peanut or almond butter)

Hurried pic on the iphone on the way out the door this morning.

Wednesday
Sweet potato, almond & banana smoothie

Mix all the ingredients together.  Serves 1

  • 1 cup roasted sweet potatoes/yams
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons flax meal
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 2 scoops protein powder (I used this)

Thursday
Banana Almond Smoothie

Serves 1. Mix everything.  Enjoy.

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup non fat plain greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 2 tablespoons rice protein powder
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 tablespoon flax seed
  • 1 & 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Friday
PB Banana Coffee smoothie
Serves 1.  Mix the below together and drink.

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 cup non fat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup coffee (I saved the leftover coffee from the day before and let it cool in the fridge overnight)
  • 1/2 unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/4 cup protein plus peanut flour

Saturday (Basically the same as Monday but with doubled ingredients)
PB Blueberry (green?) smoothie
:
Serves 2

  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 cup non fat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup protein plus peanut flour
  • 2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 4 tablespoons flax meal

Sunday
(Real Peanut Butter) Banana Smoothie

We ran out of protein plus peanut flour (my fave) so I decided to make today’s smoothie with actual peanut butter.  I think I’ve forgotten how good real PB is, because I thought this smoothie was the most amazing think I’d ever had to drink.

  • 3 tablespoons Adam’s natural Chunky PB
  • 2 scoops brown rice protein powder
  • 1 cup non fat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 cup non fat milk
  • 1 cup unsweetened, vanilla almond milk

And in other non smoothie news, yesterday I ran 4 miles outside with very minimal knee pain.  It was the longest run I’ve done since Hood to Coast so I’m getting cautiously optimistic that HTC # 5 might be in my future after all.  Oh and somehow my pace was 8:34.  I sort of think my Nike+ GPS app was wrong because I never run that fast.  And the best part of the whole run was that I had to wear sunscreen because it was so sunny out.  In fact, I’d even go so far as to use the word HOT to describe yesterday.  But of course, today is pouring down rain so what can you do?

9 thoughts on “Green Smoothie Challenge Recap

    • I’m kind of sketched out by protein powder. I use to use it all the time and then read about how the kind I was using had high levels of arsenic. Gross. So I try to get all the protein in the shakes using natural stuff – greek yogurt and peanut flour. I actually am planning a post about peanut flour this week but basically it’s crushed peanuts with the oil extracted so that it has less fat and calories but more protein than regular peanut butter. I am obsessed with it. This is what I use now: http://www6.netrition.com/protein_plus_peanut_flour.html

      • So you should check out Sun Warrior protein. Natural rice protein sweetened with stevia. They’ll give you samples if you email them. I think the stevia is a little strong but not bad. I also just found a brand called Epic protein which is all natural and suppose to have a better consistency than Sun Warrior. I just got some samples from them (email them) but haven’t tried it yet.

  1. Pingback: 7-Days Of Green Smoothies…The Aftermath

Leave a Reply

