Whatever Makes You Feel Like A Rockstar

Yesterday was kind of rough as far as work-outs go.  Monday night Chris’ parents came in to town and had dinner with us and then we took them to the airport (side note, they’re off to hang for a month in Mexico.  No fair).  We got home late(r) but decided to stay up and watch some TV which made bedtime later than normal.  Normally not a huge deal except that Chris wanted to work out in the morning.  So up we go, into the car and all the sudden I realize I have an 8am meeting.  Normally when I work out in the morning I’m there from about 7:15-8:30, shower and then get into work by 9.  Well, this morning I got to the gym at 7:10, the locker room by 7:40 and to my desk by 8. What did I do for my 30 min at the gym?  Elliptical.  Nothing super crazy, just some basic cardio.  But I just didn’t feel like I got a good workout so I planned on coming back at lunch to lift some weights.

Fast forward through a kind of nutty day and all the sudden it’s 3 and I still haven’t gone back to the gym.  And most days I’d be ok with a 30 min cardio sesh.  But I just haven’t felt like I’ve been making the best and most healthy food & beverage choices (good during the week, bad during the weekend) and I just felt gross and NEEDED to sweat.  And the fact that my earlier workout sucked, work had been crazy, and I generally didn’t feel that fit made me annoyed and not in a good mood. So I email Chris and tell him I want to make sure I get a Jillian in at home.  Of course, he says. Done.  Problem solved.

Oh, but then my co-worker walks over and shows me his Fuel points…

I haven’t really talked about my FuelBand on here because I can’t figure out the right way to discuss it because of where I work. And I’ll leave it at that.  But you can read all about the band for yourself here.  Basically it’s something you wear that tracks your calories, steps and Fuel points.

Even though I did cardio in the morning I was still significantly down from my Fuel points daily goal and while I said I’d do a Jillian when I got home, sitting on the couch, eating chili and watching TV sounded like a better plan (so what if I didn’t hit my goal for 1 day).  But when my co-worker came over and showed me his points I knew I had to get motivated to go do something so I could beat him.

So I hauled myself to the gym with no real plan of what I was going to do when I got there.  I just hoped I could muster up enough motivation to feel like I did something.  I’d seen this Sports Illustrated Swim Inspiration Work It Out Bootcamp workout from Young Married Chic so I started out with the cardio bursts (I can’t do burpees with my knees so I did more jumping jacks) but then when I got to leg burn I did 10 lunges and my knees quickly told me they weren’t going to have it.  Instead I popped out 25 (real) push-ups and some abs (sit-ups, crunches, roman twists).

And after that I still wanted to work-out my legs so I did this:
Leg Press: 45lbs on each side.  3 sets of 20 reps

And then this leg/chest circuit (3 times through)

  • Step-ups (20 each leg)
  • Chest flies (15lb dumbbells – 10 reps)
  • Chest press (15lb dumbbells – 10 reps)
  • Triceps kick-backs (15lb dumbbells – 10 reps)
  • Squats (35lb bar, 20 reps)
  • Dead-lifts (35lb bar, 20 reps)
  • Reverse crunches (on the bench – I find it helps if I hold the bench behind my head)

And I was feeling pretty good but I wanted a little cardio to really feel complete and ended up on the bike for about 15 min.  While I was riding, this song came on the radio.  I’d heard Kenny and Tim perform it on the ACM awards Sunday and thought it was pretty catchy (side note, I think Tim McGraw is so freaking hot.  Love my husband but man, oh man, Tim just does it for me).  Hearing it again yesterday made me love it even more.  There was just something about it that totally pumped me up.  There’s certainly a little “hick” to it:

Do you kick the dirt, or work a Vegas stop
Do you hit the strip, or roll a country mile
Do you wear uptight, or keep it loose
Do you leave it in the truck
Or take it in in your boot

But that aside, it’s basically saying do whatever you need to do to feel like a rockstar.  Now, I have no desire to get up on stage and sing around but I do want to feel like a rockstar at the gym.  I want to feel strong, and healthy, and (let’s be honest) hot.  This song came on at the perfect moment and made me push myself a little bit harder.  Turn up that resistance a little more.  Peddle a little bit faster.

And at the end of my workout I definitely felt better than I did earlier in the day.  Annoyance was gone, mood had been lifted, and I’d earned enough fuel points to beat my co-worker.

Turns out all I needed was a little sweat and Tim McGraw.

Image Source

4 thoughts on “Whatever Makes You Feel Like A Rockstar

  1. Love this post…and the workout idea! I have been looking for new circuits…today I did an arm one that I know I am going to be feeling in the morning. It’s sooo true how a song can make you feel so good..or bad :) Keep up the great workout tips…love it!!

    • Yeah, it’s pretty cool. I love that it motivates me so much but there have been a few days where I’m like “dang you Fuel band” I don’t want to workout today hahah.

Leave a Reply

