Good (Abs) Friday

Question for you – when is it going to get warm in Portland?  This morning it was 39 degrees when I got in the car.  39 DEGREES!  That is cold.  I felt like I needed gloves.  I know we have crummy weather here in the Pac NW and summer never shows up until after the 4th of July but I seriously do not remember it being this cold in April.  Rumor has it that it’s suppose to be nice this weekend, even getting up to a whopping 66 degrees but I don’t know if I believe that.  I mean yesterday it hailed.  Sheesh.  Currently it looks nice out, or at least nicer than yesterday.  I would like to try and go for a run but it needs to get a little warmer before I’d venture out there in my tank top. I have a meeting from 1-2:30 so I’m thinking it could be warm enough after that to get out there.  Fingers crossed.

As I mentioned yesterday, I went back to Group Power after a long hiatus.  I was super excited but unfortunately left the class disappointed.  Kristen usually teaches it and she’s my favorite teacher so I was jazzed to do her class.  But there was a sub.  And I just wasn’t a fan.  She did a good job of leading the class and cuing things up but I didn’t feel like she was that fit.  She was by no means overweight, but she just seemed a little soft, as in no real definition to her muscles.  Now, don’t hate me for saying what I’m about to say.  I don’t mean to offend anyone who works in the fitness industry but for me, when I go to a class or hire a personal trainer I want to be inspired by their body.  I want their body to be better than mine. It’s important motivation for me. If I’m going to the gym and am going to listen to someone else give me instructions for 60 min I want to believe that it will make a difference and improve my body.  That if you’re a fitness instructor and you’re teaching the class (especially a weight class) you should be a walking advertisement of the results.

And now that I’ve said my peace I’m done ranting.  Time to move on to the weekend…

I am super excited because tonight we’re going to see The American Pie Reunion movie and I can’t wait.  The original came out in 1999 when I was a jr. in high school so I can relate to the things in the movie (prom, dating, etc).  Now apparently they’re all back together for their reunion which I can also sort of relate to.  My 10 year reunion was almost 2 years ago and I didn’t get to go.  Why?  Well it was on my wedding day so probably a good reason to skip it :)  but still, I would have liked to go to a reunion to see what everyone was up to.  So tonight, I get to go watch their reunion and live vicariously.  I’m going to try really hard not to eat candy but we’ll see how that goes.  FYI did you know if you’re going to eat movie theater candy the best one to get is Jr. Mints?

And because it’s Friday, it might be nice here, and every one else in this country is apparently experiencing a heat wave (or so it seems based on all the blogs I read) I’ve been thinking a lot about bathing suit weather.  We’re heading to Mexico in May so it’s beach-body countdown time.  And while having an all-over beach bod is important to me, having good abs (followed by good legs) is at the top of my list.  So I’ve rounded up a couple of abs articles/links/exercises that I wanted to pass along:

There are tons of great ideas in the above articles but I also wanted to share my faves.  These are the ones I tend to rotate through on a regular basis.  (PS abs are made in the kitchen so no matter how hard you work them out if you eat like crap you’ll never see the definition).

Sit-ups – real ones.  No crunches.  Full on, feet on the floor, knees bent, elbows behind your head sit-ups.

Source

Roman/Russian twists with a medicine ball (I use 8lbs and keep my feet off the floor)

Source

Pilates 100

Source

V-ups

Souce

Crunches on a fitness ball

Source

Side Crunches

Source

Weighted side bend

Source

V Ins on a bosu ball

Source

I always do my abs in multiples of 25.  I don’t know why, just easier to keep count of I guess? For super hard ones like v-ups I usually only do 25, for easy ones like roman twists I’ll do 100.  For in between ones like real sit-ups I try to do 4 sets of 25 for a total of 100.  Make sense?  I don’t do all of these every day but I usually do a couple.  I try to get between 250 and 500 reps of abs in every day.

So there you have it.  Hope you have a great Good Friday and  fantastic Easter weekend.

Oh and let me know if any of these ab exercises are new to you or if you have a favorite that I don’t know about.  I can always use more ab work in my life :)

5 thoughts on “Good (Abs) Friday

Leave a Reply

