Easter with mom

Good morning.  I hope everyone is having a great Easter Sunday.

Normally I’d be at church right now but my mom had to be home to Olympia by 1 and we couldn’t find a church service early enough that would work with her schedule so we got up and went on a walk instead. My mom lives about 2 hours away and even though that’s not that far, we don’t see each other all that often.  She works in the legislature and because the hours are crazy when session is going on it’s hard for her to get down to visit.  It was just nice to have her here and have mom/daughter bonding time. We’re about as different as two people can be so I’m also super appreciative when we have good weekends together and just work on growing our relationship.  It’s nice.

At first I was a little groggy getting up at 8.  I mean, I like my weekend sleep-in time but the minute I got outside all of the crustiness went away.  It was like Spring finally decided to show up in Portland – sun shinning, trees blooming… you could even smell people’s woodstoves burning.  I loved it.  Plus it was so quiet out.  Like the rest of the world was still in bed and mom, Chance and I had the streets to ourselves.  We went on a 3 mile walk to Gabriel Park and around some neighborhoods that Chris and I like to look at houses in and it was fun just walking and chatting.  She’s walked around our immediate neighborhood but hadn’t seen a lot of the houses we passed today so it was cool to see her fall in love with our area as much as we do.  My mom also has a major green thumb so she was telling me the names of all the things in peoples’ yards and suggesting what we could add to ours.

We got home and she headed off to Olympia and I made myself some breakfast.  Chris was is still sleeping so I have the house to myself right now and it’s nice.  I’m sitting here, drinking my coffee, the sun is shinning through the windows…  It’s certainly not your typical Easter Sunday but it’s a good one.

View on our walk

From my mamma

Scrambled eggs/egg whites with cheddar

Coffee

Chance

As long as it stays nice I’m going to go play around in my garden later and hopefully plant some seeds.  We’re also thinking about bike ride and maybe busting out the BBQ for dinner.

Hope everyone has a great day today.

4 thoughts on “Easter with mom

  1. This post just gave me chills!!! Something about Oregon recognizing it’s Spring and your walk and talk with your mama gave me goosebumps. You’re a lucky girl that obviously knows it. I loved thinking about you at home blogging while Chris sleeps. It sounds like the perfect Sunday. WIsh I was there to come BBQ with you guys. Happy Easter, Whit.

    PS. She’s like Texas is on right now in my apartment. Always makes me think of you two and our fun times at the Oregon State games this past fall. Mwuah to you both!

    • This comment made me sad and miss you. That OSU game when Chris was the DJ was so fun. And speaking of that, did you hear that Jake Owen is engaged? That is one hot fella who’s now off the market. Hope you had a great day :)

Leave a Reply

