Just like riding a bike

After spending the entire day outside in the yard, (hello glorious sunshine) Chris and I got out our bikes and went on a 5 mile bike ride into Multnomah Village. And the hills (which are super tough when running), kicked my butt.  We’d barely gotten out of our driveway and hit this tiny hill on our street and I was sweating.  The big hill towards the end of the ride seemed to go on forever.  We both had our bikes in the lowest gear and it felt like slow motion to get up to the top.  All the cars driving by must have been laughing at us.  But we did it.  And then soaring down the hill was exhilarating.  I felt like Meg Ryan in City of Angles where she’s riding down that road with her arms outstretched…it just felt so good in the warm weather with the breeze on my face (note, I wore a helmet, my hands were on the handle bars and my eyes were wide open so as not to crash into any log trucks…that movie is so sad).

Source

My bike. She's basic but she does the job.

I know Spring has sprung for a lot of people so I’m not trying to say my Spring is better than anyone else’ but I think only people from the Pacific Northwest really GET how amazing it feels when we finally get warm weather here.  We have such crappy weather 9 months out of the year that something about good weather changes EVERYONE.  People are happier, full of smiles… it’s like the collective mood of all of Portland lifts.  It’s fantastic.  I should also note that it was only 66 degrees yesterday.  66.  I was in a tank top and shorts and I even drove to the store with the run-roof open.

After the bike ride I headed to the store for groceries.  Do you guys meal plan/prep on the weekend?  I use to get annoyed because I felt like I was in the kitchen forever but now I really enjoy my Sunday ritual.

Meals this week are a little random but here’s what we’re looking at:

  • Monday: Chicken Penne Pasta or Journey’s (Chris has a couple big presentations today so we’re going to Journey’s to celebrate them being over).
  • Tuesday: Chicken Penne Pasta (if we don’t have it Monday) or Shrimp Pasta
  • Wednesday: Meeting friends for dinner at Buffalo Wild Wings (note we don’t usually eat here but my friend is preggo and this is what she’s craving)
  • Thursday: Shrimp pasta (if we don’t have it Tuesday) or a TBD chicken meal
  • Friday: Flank steak, asparagus and wild rice
  • Saturday: TBD
  • Sunday: TBD

For my lunches this week I’ve decided to try doing protein smoothies (just like my breakfast ones).  When the weather gets nice I don’t like to eat a heavy meal at lunch and usually switch to shakes with a side of something. In the past I’ve just bought Muscle Milk ones but then I realized how full of nasty crap they are so I’m brought in my Magic Bullet and will whip things up in the break room.

Pre-workout snacks will be almonds or low-fat cottage cheese (I’m on a serious cottage cheese kick.  I bought 3 containers yesterday).  And to go along with my smoothie I chopped up a bunch of orange and red peppers and made some sun-dried tomato humus.  I’ll probably eat this a little bit after my smoothie, or it might become my afternoon snack. We’ll see how hungry I get.  I also chopped some up for at home.  I’m always snacky before dinner so hoping this will be what I reach for instead of chips/pretzels etc.

Here’s the recipe.  I modified this one except I realized I forgot lemons so this is sans lemon juice but I think it still turned out delicious (although Chris said my breath was horrible after eating it…whoops). It was definitely more trial and error than exact science so keep that in mind.  Start with less (water/spices/olive oil) and add more based on your preference.

  • 2 cans drained chickpeas
  • 4-5 tablespoons sundried tomatos in olive oil (I use ones from here)
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • Garlic/Salt/Paprika/Cayenne Pepper – I added all of these to taste, just dumped it in, mixed everything in the food processor and added more if I felt it needed it.  If someone forced me to give an exact amount I’d say about a tablespoon each of garlic and cayenne, 1/2 tablespoon paprika and 1/4 teaspoon salt.
  • 4-5 tablespoons water (because I forgot the lemon juice)

Yum

Home and work portions

And instead of grilling we ended up with a Papa Murfs.  My mom said she wanted to get us our Easter dinner and she knows Sunday night pizza is our thing.  Thanks Mom :)  And we treated ourselves and got the Papa-roni which is a little known pizza that is not even on the menu.  It’s a regular pepperoni but with pepperoni folded into the crust.  It is amazing.  If you’re a Papa Murphy’s fan I highly recommend giving it a whirl.

And to burn off that pizza today, I think I’m just going to do the elliptical and maybe pilates reformer.  I know that that my physical therapist said not to do it but I at least want to try it and see how I feel.  Plus pilates tones my arms better than anything else so I’m thinking if I do super light springs for my legs I’ll be ok.  We’ll see.  And if this weather stays nice we’re biking to Journey’s.

Have a great Monday.  Hope everyone had a great Easter weekend.

One thought on “Just like riding a bike

Leave a Reply

