Cardio-box

Source

Fight your way into top shape with this boxing inspired workout. On any given day you may jump rope, run stairs, train with a medicine ball, shadow box and do agility drills. Expect to maximize your workout with kicking and punching drills using weighted training bags. No experience necessary for this fast paced, high energy class. 60 minutes

This was my workout yesterday.  My two co-workers go all the time and convinced me that my knees would be ok and that I should try it.  So I did.  And I got my butt kicked.  As best I can remember, here’s what the workout looked like

Dynamic warmup (jogging, skipping, toe touches)

Cardio intervals:

  • run up & down 2 flights of stairs + 1 lap around the track
  • run up & down 2 flights of stairs (twice) + 2 laps around the tack
  • run up & down 2 flights of stairs (3 times) + 3 laps around the track

Stations:

  • 1 minute push-ups
  • 1 min lateral step ups
  • For 2 minutes, with a partner, rotate between 20 punches on a heavy bag & jumping jacks (while your partner punches)

Cardio:

  • Up and down 2 flights of stairs + 1 lap around the track

Stations:

  • 1 min lateral lunges
  • 1 min hip bridges with weighted sandbags on stomach
  • 2 min punching bag/jumping jack combo

Cardio:

  • Up & down two flights of stairs + 1 lap around the track

Stations:

  • 1 min fire hydrant leg lifts (everyone else did walking lunges, the instructor modified for me)
  • 30 sec dips (using steps)
  • 30 sec bicep curls with resistance band
  • 2 min punching bag/jumping jack combo

Cardio:

  • Up & down 2 flights of stairs + 1 lap around the track

Core/Abs (using an 8 lb medicine ball)

  • 5 sets of 30 seconds of push-ups/30 sec rest
  • 30 ab tucks
  • 30 toe touches
  • 30 reverse crunches (medicine ball between your knees)
  • 25 supermans (no medicine ball)

This class was great.  Hard, but great.  It’s a pretty small class and you can tell that a lot of people are regulars (and they were all in super great shape) so it was a little intimidating at the beginning.  I feel like I’m in pretty good shape but I always hate going to a new class.  No matter what the class, I feel like there is always a bit of a learning curve to figure out the routine and how things go. I get seriously intimidated.

I think it goes all the way back to elementary/middle/high school PE classes where I was so horribly uncoordinated and bad at all sports…I just was not graced with natural athletic talent.  Through college and the years after I’ve become so much more athletic but I have to work for it. Constantly. Playing team sports still makes me break out into a sweat.

Anyway, I guess what I’m saying is that even though I’m in good shape, I still feel really un-athletic at times and trying out a new fitness class is one of them.  To help me get over my nerves I always introduce myself to the instructor and let him/her know I’m new so that way if I am totally doing something wrong they’ll know why.  Plus it’s also good to let them know if you have any injuries (I explained I had knee issues so he totally watched out for me and gave me modifications).  I learned yesterday in cardio-box that I am bad at boxing.  The instructor came over to me every time I was on the heavy bag and was giving me tips and correcting my form.  I know he was trying to help but it’s still a little embarrassing to be corrected.  But then he also came by later and said my form for lateral lunges was awesome and I did a great job of sitting my hips back.  So that made me feel pretty good.

All in all, good class and I’ll definitely be back.  Plus my back  and shoulders are feeling it today which to me is always the sign of a good workout.

Do you guys like trying to classes?  Do you get intimidated by them?

Leave a Reply

