How to Make a Healthy Grilled Cheese Sandwich

So apparently today is National Grilled Cheese day.  And in honor of loving myself some grilled cheese sammies (especially the En Fuego bites from Journeys) here are a few links about how to make them healthier.

PS when we make grilled cheese we always use olive oil instead of butter on the bread.  Spray it from a misto…so easy!

And speaking of grilled cheese, someone at work just told me that this food cart is going to be coming to campus soon.  She knows how much I like peanut butter so she immediately thought of me when she heard.  I was super excited until I went and looked at the menu.  Cheese with my peanut butter?  I don’t know if I can get in to this. Not to mention these all sound like a heart attack on a plate.  However there are a couple sweet sammies dessert that might be worthy of a bite…Sweet Tart anyone?

Image source

Are you guys grilled cheese fans?  I mean some days there is just nothing better than grilled cheese with tomato soup.  Good ol’ fashioned comfort food :)

12 thoughts on “How to Make a Healthy Grilled Cheese Sandwich

  1. Whit those sandwiches are so amazing! The cart is right down the street from where I live and I am totally the one who begged food services to let them come here because I knew they were interested anyway:) You’ll see me over at that cart! My faves are the Hot Hood, the Thai one and the Spencer. The owners are pretty much geniuses with food pairings so they know what they are doing with the combinations and every one I have tried is like a food gasm in your mouth! and yah I am not sure how healthy they are but its a treat sometimes!

    • So I used to only use Kraft but my husband’s best friend (the best man in our wedding) is from Tillamook Oregon and Tillamook is famous for cheese (it’s serioulsy delicious and the cheese factory is so much fun) so we are NEVER allowed to buy any cheese but Tillamook. It gets a little ridicious especially when other kinds are on sale but he’s pretty adamant about supporting his pal (and buying local).

Leave a Reply

