25’s workout circuit

Phew, it is finally Friday.  I don’t know about you but at least for Chris and I, Friday has taken forever to get here.  I swear I woke up Wednesday and Thursday thinking it was Friday.  Sheesh.  We both had super crazy weeks last week so maybe that’s why?  Regardless, glad it’s finally here.

I’m gonna be honest with you.  This week has not been my best effort eating wise…Journeys on Monday, wings on Wednesday, and Journeys again last night.  Not to mention after Journeys we stopped at the beer store John’s Market so Chris could grab a beer and I managed to walk out of there with a bag of caramel corn.  I don’t usually like caramel corn but there’s something about this particular kind that I love.  And then I came home and ate 1/2 – 3/4 of the bag.  But I guess in the grand scheme of things there are a lot worse things I could be eating than caramel corn.  And while I sucked it up on the food front this week I am pretty proud of all my workouts.  I feel like I more than made up for my food choices with my gym time.

  • Sunday: 3 mile walk + 5 mile bike ride
  • Monday: 60 min cardio box
  • Tuesday: 40 min treadmill run/walk + weights
  • Wednesday: 45 min spin bike + 60 min reformer pilates
  • Thursday: The 25’s circuit (more on that below)
  • Friday (that’s today): 45 min on the spin bike before work + debating about a low impact legs circuit

And now for some pics from last night.  We really were going to stay in and then Chris read my post yesterday about grilled cheese and suggested Journeys…like I would say no.  But at least we were good and ate dinner at home 1st and just got a small bites En Fuego grilled cheese.

Chicken Penne Pasta - recipe here:

Cava

En Fuego grilled cheese bites with red electric sauce

Totally random caramel corn that I love

And now for the 25’s workout I mention above…I went to the gym yesterday with no real plan.  I was going to just do weights but I went into one of the studio rooms to warm up with some jumping jacks.  And then I did some jump ropes and then I ended up making up this whole circuit.  Let me tell you, butt kicker.  And I’m proud to announce that I did all 75 push-ups on my toes.  No girl push-ups here.  By the last set I had to break it up (15, slight rest, then 10 more) but still.  All of them were real.  I ran through this 3 times and it took me about 35 min.  Next time I want to try to do it 4 times.  You can also add weights to make it harder – hand weights while you’re doing the cardio portion and a medicine ball for the squats.

Let me know if you have questions about any of the exercises and I’ll post examples.

I rounded that out with:

  • Step-ups (25 each leg, 3 times)
  • Abductor machine ( 50 lbs – pulse 30 sec, hold 30 sec.  3 sets)
  • Leg extension machine (30 lbs – raises for 1 min, hold for 30 sec.  3 sets)
  • 15 min bike

As for the weekend plans – not really sure what we’re doing.  For the 1st time in a long time we don’t really have any plans.  Tonight is movie night courtesy of whatever we find in the red box and leftover chicken penne pasta.  Tomorrow, as long as it stays nice, we’re hoping to go on a hike or bike ride during the day and grilling up carne asada for dinner.  Sunday will probably be a lazy day…maybe working in the yard.

Hope you all have great weekends.

Oh and I had to post this because it cracked me up.  This morning Chris was making his lunch and realized he only had one piece of bread left so he made himself a sad little sandwich with just one piece.  Don’t worry, he has other food to eat but I had to take a pic of this poor little guy.

Baby Sammie

Does this every happen to you?  Run out of food and have to make do?

4 thoughts on “25’s workout circuit

    • Thanks! It was a good one. I like it because I don’t really need a gym. Thinking it would be a good little vacation/hotel room workout. If you try it, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

