Sunday steak + eggs

Wow, I feel like we’re in the 50’s or something.  Yesterday I made my husband steak and eggs… Ok, but not really.  We started out the day with breakfast burritos and ended the day with carne asada.

Breakfast burritos
Depending on the size of your whole wheat tortilla, this makes about 4 burritos.

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 chopped red pepper
  • 6 eggs
  • 6 egg whites
  • 2 slices of pepper-jack cheese
  • whole wheat tortillas

Cook the beans and peppers for a few minutes with black pepper.  Add in eggs and cheese.  Spoon into warm tortillas (I microwave mine for about 30 sec to get them soft).  Add light sour cream and taco sauce if desired.  Eat. Enjoy.

For dinner we decided on carne asada.  I should also note here that I do not like red meat.  No real reason for it, I just don’t like it. Never have. I’ll have an occasional burger but that’s about it.  But I never have steak.  Ever.  Until I found out I have low ferritin levels.  Now I’m not a Dr. but from everything mine has told me, ferritin is my stored iron which means I’m not anemic because my usable iron is great but my usable iron is taken from my stored iron (I think) and basically my “store” is low.  So I’m on a quest to get more iron from my diet (here’s a great list of iron rich foods…hello spinach, sweet potatoes, kale, broccoli etc) and while I do a pretty good job of getting iron from veggies I do not do a good job of getting iron from red meat.  So I’ve slowly been trying to eat more.  And carne asada made with flank steak when the steak is cut up in super tiny pieces (although apparently it’s suppose to be cut in thin strips but I don’t roll that way) and mixed in with my favorite salsa has been pretty good.

Normally Chris makes it, but today I decided to make the marinade (with his help).  I mean, seriously this is a momentous occasion.  It marks the 1st time in my entire life that I have ever touched a raw steak.  Bleh.

Carne Asada
Mix up the marinade, put the steak in it (I use a large freezer bag) and toss it in the fridge for a couple of hours:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • chopped up cilantro – leaves + stem
  • juice of 2 limes

While the steak was grilling (Chris grilled it for 12 minutes) I whipped up my favorite salsa and cilantro lime sour cream.   To assemble, use whole wheat tortillas, spread on salsa and sour cream, add the meat, grate some cheese.  And eat.  With chips on the side. To scoop up the filling that will inevitably fall out.

Yum.  For someone who typically hates red meat, I’m telling you these are good.

The rest of Sunday was uneventful.  Meal planned, grocery shopped, finished my yard project and did laundry (and then our washing machine broke but that’s a story for another day).

And this morning I got up and did 45 minutes on the spin bike.  I’m contemplating trying a beginning yoga class at noon but we’ll see how that goes.  I’ve done yoga once before and was not a fan but my physical therapist said it would be good for me so I might give it a shot.

And because it’s Monday and Monday seems like a good day to post random things from Pinterest, here you go.  1, I love the Beatles (my dad raised us on them) and 2, it’s pouring down rain right now so it seems fitting.

Source

 

6 thoughts on “Sunday steak + eggs

  1. I can’t stand touching red meat either!! Something about it freaks me out…. although those burritos look delicious!

  2. that looks so good!! Where do you get the steak? I have never really cooked with it either. I am going to try your sour cream recipe! Do you ever use greek yogurt as a substitute? I like the ZOI brand that I can only find at Winco! The full fat, not fat free:)

    • We got it at Fred Meyer in the deli counter. It was a pound of flank steak. I know nothing about red meat so that was all Chris. I’ve tried using greek yogurt instead of sour cream but I don’t like it as much. But I’ve only used the fat free kind so maybe using full fat is the way to go.

Leave a Reply

