Easy Homemade Protein bars

Exciting news around these parts.  We sold our futon!  So now we’re one step closer to making our home gym a reality.  There’s still quite a bit in the office that needs to be sold/moved/cleaned up before we’re ready to move the bike from the guest room but at least we’re making baby steps.  We sold it to a young couple new to the area and ended up moving it for them since it wouldn’t fit in their car.  We thought it would fit in ours no problem but once we actually got it loaded into the back of the 4-runner we realized it wouldn’t.  But after some rope-tying we were able to get it secure enough (with our back door/hatch slightly open) to drive down the road and make the delivery.

All of that took longer than we thought which meant dinner was later than normal.  Chris rode the spin bike and took Chance for a walk while I whipped up sweet potato fries, baked chicken tenders and asparagus.  It was delish.  But I didn’t have time to download the pics so you’ll get to read more about that tomorrow. But the one recipe I do have for you are for some protein bars I made on Sunday.

I’ve tried and tried to make a protein bar that’s easy to whip up, tastes good, not horrible for me and packs a decent amount of protein.  And I think I finally found the winner.  I used this recipe but doubled it and used almond butter instead of peanut butter and prunes instead of raisins.

Homemade protein bars (adapted from Moneysavingmom.com)
Approximate calorie count per bar: 230 calories, 10 g protein, 7 g sugar, 4 g fiber

  • 2 mashed bananas
  • 3 cups dry oatmeal
  • 4 Tablespoons flax seed, ground
  • 6 scoops protein powder (I used Jarrow’s brown rice vanilla)
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil or butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup chopped prunes
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 bag dark chocolate chunks

Mix all ingredients but chocolate together well (mixture will be somewhat sticky). Line an 9×13 pan with foil (I sprayed a little olive oil down first to prevent sticking) and spread the mixture evenly in the pan…I ended up pressing it all down with my hands to make it level. Melt chocolate in the microwave (I also added a little coconut oil for a tropical kick). Drizzle or spread over the mixture in the pan.

Place the pan in the freezer for at least 2 hours. After that, I cut the pan up into 18 bars, tossed them into a freezer bag and put them back in the freezer. Just make sure you let them thaw before eating or you’ll probably end up with a chipped tooth :)

These good, I would recommend them, and I’m definitely going to make them again but the calorie count is a little high (from the coconut oil) and the protein count is a little low (next time I’ll use more protein powder).  I also think they could be good with a little more crunch so I’m thinking chopped up cashews or almonds would be a good addition.  I’m excited to have a great base recipe to play around it.  Be on the lookout for more variations of this in the future.

I had one of these before I headed to yoga yesterday.  Yes, yoga!  My 2nd time ever going to yoga.  Just like the post about dinner, my post about yoga is going to have to wait for another day but I will say while I enjoyed the class my knee/IT band is killing me today and I’m not sure if it’s from yoga or something else.  Hopefully with some foam rolling and ice it gets better.

Today is a weights day and I’ll probably do 30 min of some sort of interval cardio.  I’ll give you all the details on Wednesday….wow, sounds like my Wednesday post is going to be chock full of fun stuff.  Better be productive tonight.  It’s Tuesday which means its Biggest Loser (the one where the contestants walk off the set) and BL popcorn night.

Do you guys watch Biggest Loser?  It’s not as good without Jillian but I still love it.

Leave a Reply

