Midweek roundup – Food + fitness

This is what I spent my day looking at yesterday.  That, my friends, is my front room.  Where a window is supposed to go.  A few weeks ago, you’ll remember that I was also working from home, dealing with Home Depot and leaking windows. And they PROMISED me that they were fixing it.  But they didn’t.  So yesterday they were back.  For the 6th time.  And after they finally admitted they installed them incorrectly the 1st time, they completely uninstalled and reinstalled my windows.  Except they didn’t quite finish.  So they’re coming back today.  That makes time #7.  The good thing about all of this is that I think they’re finally getting installed correctly so I am really feeling good about all this work.  Really hoping after today I can finally move on with my life.  Plus, because I had some very lengthy convos with a variety of people at HD they also fixed all of the windowsills/woodwork which makes it a little more worth my while.  And I’m currently in conversations with them about some HD gift cards.

Anyway, because I was at home yesterday my diet/workout plan was a little random.  Breakfast was the normal PB blueberry smoothie.  Lunch was a homemade protein bar and then later PB toast with honey and an orange.  And dinner was a hodgepodge of leftovers – corn, pinto beans, orange pepper, eggs/egg whites and cheese.

Speaking of hodgepodge, here are some random iphone snaps of this week’s eats:

Wednesday PB toast

Monday's afternoon snack

Tuesday dinner: corn, ground turkey breast, re-fried beans, avocado, red pepper, cheddar cheese, sour cream. So good.

Monday's lunch: leftover favorite salsa plus 2 egg whites, 2 eggs and goat cheese.

Wednesday snack

Wednesday dinner - eggs + egg whites, orange pepper, corn and beans. Random

For my workout (we’re still talking Wednesday), I rode on the spin bike for 45 minutes but couldn’t get the seat lowered from Chris’ height so I had to ride most of it out of the saddle.  My feet could touch the peddles sitting down but it bugged my knees and I couldn’t put that much resistance on there since it didn’t have much force to come down with so it wasn’t as challenging as I would have liked.  We still haven’t been able to get that seat lowered.  I hope the knob magically loosens up or something soon.

After the bike I did a tiny weight circuit on the fitness ball:

Chest fly, chest press, triceps extension…15 reps each, repeat 3 times, using 5lb hand-weights. And some situps…4 sets of 25 also on the fitness ball.  And then I started to do the pilates side leg series on the ball but Chris got home and we took Chance for a walk.

And while we’re on the subject of circuits, here’s a good legs one I did at the gym Tuesday:

Buns burner
You could probably try heavier weights, but with my knees, this is as much as I can do right now.

  • Leg press – 3 sets of 12 reps, 60lbs on each side
  • Straight leg dead lift – 3 sets of 20 reps, 40lb barbell
  • Side squats with leg raise – 20 on each side.  No weight
  • Sumo squat calf raises – 20.  No weight
  • Step-ups – 20 on each leg
  • Leg extension – 3 sets (50 reps @ 40 lbs, 35 reps @ 30 lbs, 25 reps @ 20 lbs + extend legs and hold for a min)
  • Abductor machine – 60lbs, 3 sets.  50 little pulses + hold for 50 counts.  Also, make sure to sit forward on the machine.  Don’t lean back.  You have to engage your core more if you’re not using that back support.

I got all my leg press reps done then rotated through the deadlift/squat/calf/step-up combo 3 times and then headed over to the machines and did all reps of the leg extension and then ended with the abductor.  My buns were seriously on fire.  I think it was the side squats or something.

Alright I think I’ve zigged and zagged around the past couple days but you should be pretty caught up.  Hopefully the week is going by fast for you.  I actually can’t believe today is Thursday and the weekend is just right around the corner.

5 thoughts on “Midweek roundup – Food + fitness

  1. Tuesday’s dinner looks amazing!

    It sucks that HD has been at your house seven times to get a task done, but it’s cool that they’re acknowledging they botched it and trying to make up for their error. I’m sure it’ll be nice to finally have that window in! Lol.

  2. Looks like an awesome workout! I could use a good butt burn! :).
    Have you tried hitting the knob to the bike with a handheld weight? When mine gets stuck in spin class I use a weight and most of the time it loosens it up!

Leave a Reply

