Tastes (and smells) of the tropics

I wish you could be at my house smelling my kitchen right now. (Is that creepy?) It smells AMAZING. And it’s all because of this stuff:

I was at TJ’s a couple of weeks ago with my friend Chelsea and we’d both heard about coconut oil but had never used it so we picked some up. And I’ve slowly been figuring out what to do with it (you can read more about its benefits here). And Thursday I discovered what may be my new favorite breakfast. COCONUT OATMEAL. Sorry to shout there but it’s so good I just had to yell around about it.

And the best part? It’s like the easiest thing ever. You just make oatmeal (I used old-fashioned Quaker with half unsweetened vanilla almond milk and half water), add about a teaspoon of coconut oil and drizzle with a little honey. And then you eat it. And close your eyes and pretend that you’re sitting in an open air cafe somewhere near a beach. Like this one:

Tahiti

I made the oatmeal again this morning and along with it we had scrambled eggs/egg whites with cheddar.

And white chocolate coffee.

Made with this stuff:

5 Sparrows is based out of Montana and is owned/run by the brother & sister-in-law of our friend Dan. They were in town this weekend for a coffee convention and I got to hang out with them and learn about their business. They have this sugar-free white chocolate mix, chocolate, chai and a frappe base…all sweetened with stevia. Normally I hate stevia…I can immediately taste if something has it in it so I was a little hesitant to try this but turns out, it’s fantastic. In the past two days I’ve had way more coffee than normal just because this stuff is so good. And only 30 calories per serving. It’s $11 a bag and you can buy it online here. And by the way, no one paid me to talk about this stuff. I just like it and wanted to give it a little shout out.

Another thing I want to shout out…Eric Church’s new video for Springsteen (which I just watched because we’re having our weekend morning ritual of coffee and CMT). I love him. I’ve seen him 5 or 6 times. He’s so good! And I’ve been listening to this song since last summer and hearing the song this morning got both Chris and I so excited for summer. We cannot wait to just blast this song on a July Saturday night :)

We’ve got another hour of being lazy and then we’re off to Home Depot to buy more bricks. Chris is completing the path that he started last weekend and I’m not entirely sure what I’ll be doing. It’s supposed to be 70-80 degrees here which I will not believe until I feel it but I’m thinking if that really happens I’m scrounging up a beach towel and laying out in the yard in my bikini and reading a book. I’m also hoping to get a run in. Crossing my fingers my legs are up for it. And then tonight we have a bday dinner for a friend at a brewery downtown.

Shaping up to be a nice little Saturday :) Hopefully everyone else is enjoying the start to their weekend as much as I am?

5 thoughts on “Tastes (and smells) of the tropics

  1. I use coconut oil all the time. I have seen it now in several different forms…and I love it. I am definintely going to try it in oatmeal. WIthout a microwave, I haven’t had hot oatmeal in forever. But, I will just make it on the stove. Also, your comment about the Springsteen song gave me chills. I love Portland in the summer. I miss it already. Blasting that song on a July Saturday night…is going to be EPIC.

  2. I love coconut oil! I like the TJ’s version better than Annie’s or any of the other ones I’ve bought at Fred Meyer but can’t remember the name. It’s more ‘coconuty”. I just use it in place of cooking/sauteing with olive oil because olive oil at high heat released bad stuff for you and it very fattening. Try sauteing with it! Oh, and if you are sauteing onions no need to use ANY oil, if you start with a very hot pan. I learned that at my Whole Foods cooking class! Save about 140 calories:)
    I also love making popcorn in a kettle with coconut oil! YUM!

Leave a Reply

