1st night bike of the season

To satisfy the patio Gods…we have all night HH tonight at the J.
All Drafts $3.50 (Wit and Cider are super low for you Keg Killers).
All Wines $1 off per glass ($1.50 off for club)…I have Rose!
All Cheese Bites are $5
Don’t forget – we now open at 4pm!!
The Adirondacks are out along with smiling, happy people.

Come on by and if it cools off enough…we’ll have a campfire too.
Cheers & raise a toast to the patio Gods!

That is the email I got yesterday from Journeys.  While sitting at my desk looking out at the sunshine streaming in through windows.  See somehow it was in the 80’s in PDX.  In April.  Which NEVER happens.  And so while we had plans to hang at home and dine al fresco we could not pass up such incredible weather or such an inviting email from our favorite neighborhood bar.

We hurried home from work, walked Chance, ate a quick dinner (leftover carne asada and stir fry) and pulled out the bikes. I mean, if we were going to go have some drinks, we at least had to get exercise out of the deal, right?  I swear it felt uphill all the way into the village and my legs were screaming with every peddle push.  I had already run 3 miles at lunch and my poor quads thought I was killing them or something.  Add in the heat and I was dying.  Chris however, hauled some serious you know what and made it to Journey’s in 12 minutes which had to have been a record.  He’s been killing it on the spin bike lately and it was super obvious that all that training translated into much faster actual biking time.  Looks like I need to turn that resistance knob up a little higher next time.

Pre-Journey's walk

When we finally got there the patio was packed!  I don’t think I’d ever seen it that full.  Apparently everyone was also coming out to take advantage of our unusual weather.  But luckily we scored some adirondacks and were able to enjoy a couple of hours of evening spring sunshine.

It was dark out when we headed home and surprisingly, I love night-time bike rides (except for one part through the park which kind of creeps me out so Chris makes sure to wait for me and ride through it together).  While it feels like uphill the whole way into the village, it definitely feels like downhill all the way back and something about soaring down a hill at night, with a warm breeze blowing past your shoulders while hearing frogs croak around you is awesome.  Such a great way to end our summer sneak-peek.    PS it took us 10 min to get home.  New. Record.

After all of yesterday’s exercise my legs were sore this morning but I still crawled out of bed at 5:15 and biked it out for 50 minutes.  I’ll admit it wasn’t the hardest cardio of my life but it was still cardio.  Later today I’m heading to the gym for some weights. Still trying to figure out what muscle part I’ll be working on… I’d like to do legs but not sure if they’ll be up for that :)  And then for dinner we’re doing homemade pizza.  My favorite!  Can’t wait.

And speaking of workouts, I wanted to pass along this post from Young Married Chic.  It’s all about jumping rope.  Apparently she was chatting with an instructor at her gym and he said that he tells anyone wanting to lose weight to incorporate 10 min of jumping rope into their daily routine.  My friend Steph at Tall Adventures has also jumped (punny!) on the jump rope bandwagon.  Sounds like something I need to get on.
Here’s a good circuit to get you started:

Sweaty Jump Chic Workout (Courtesy Young Married Chic)

  • 1:00 of jumping rope, both feet off of the floor
  • 50 jumping jacks
  • 30 seconds of rest
  • 1:00 of jumping rope, alternating feet (like skipping in place)
  • 1:00 of high knees
  • 1:00 plank on the floor
  • 30 seconds rest
  • 1:00 jumping rope
  • 15 push ups
  • 30 seconds of rest
  • 1:00 jumping rope
  • 10 burpees
  • 30 seconds of rest
  • 1:00 jumping rope
  • 30 seconds of rest
  • 20 bicycle crunches
  • 20 regular crunches
  • 1:00 plank on the floor
  • Stretch!

Let me know if you try out the circuit and/or your thoughts on jump-roping in general or any recommendations on brands/kinds of rope.  I’ve done fake jump-roping before where I jump and twirl my hands but haven’t actually used a rope in who knows how long.

Finally, in other news, I got my rings back yesterday and I was chatting with the jeweler (we’re talking nice, custom designs shop… not a random mall jewelry chain) and he said definitely do not wear your rings at the gym.  He recommended getting a ring box and leaving your rings at home when you head for a sweat session or if you can’t do that, to get a chain and wear them around your neck while you’re working out.  This seems weird to me and actually makes me more nervous about breaking the chain or something but I guess if the chain was sturdy enough it would work.  He also recommends taking your rings off every night.  He said “when you take off your face, take off your rings,” and then when you put your face back on in the morning to put them back on.  Basically because you never know if you do any weird things during your sleep (slamming your hand against a headboard etc).  I slept without them last night and it felt a little weird but I’m going to take his advice and see if I can keep them looking nice and shiny for longer than a day :)

So there you go.  Bike rides, jump ropes, rings…you get it all here my friends :)  Happy Tuesday.  3 more sleeps until we head to the beach for my birthday weekend and I couldn’t be more excited.

5 thoughts on “1st night bike of the season

  1. sounds like an amazing night! I taught two Pilates privates back to back and hoped all day they would call to cancel due to the good weather but they did not:( Alas I still ate dinner on my patio overlooking the MAC club/Lincoln HS track.

    So you are back to running! Do you want to run together one of these days? I go to track practice on Tuesday and like to do a run on Thursdays. let me know what your schedule is!

    • Lame, that sucks that you had to teach. I’m slowly getting back into running. Only like 3-4 miles and only about once a week. Thursdays are usually pretty good for me except I’m booked for the next two. What about we start the 2nd week in May? Hahah, maybe we could plan our runs around when the grilled cheese truck will be here?

Leave a Reply

