Thank you Jillian

So Tuesday night I did Jillian Michaels’ killer buns and thighs.  I’ve done that DVD a couple of times, usually level 1 so I switched it up and tried level 2.  It was definitely harder – hello 1 legged squats! and then there were a couple lunge combos I couldn’t do because of my knees so I did some squat leg lifts instead.  I finished the DVD, went about my business and thought I would be ok.  And I was until halfway through the day yesterday when I got up from my desk and could barely walk.  My buns were on fire!  It was like all the sudden that entire workout hit me.  I hobbled to the gym and struggled doing any sort of leg workout because mine were so tight.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I love it when I feel sore after a workout, I just didn’t expect to be that sore after that DVD.  I was pretty jazzed. I love a good leg workout so I’m going to add that DVD to my regular mix and make sure I do at least level 2, maybe 3 if I’m feeling crazy.  If you haven’t done any of Jillian’s workout DVDs I highly recommend them.  I honestly think that if I didn’t have access to a gym I could do a couple of her DVDs a day and be in the same or better shape then I am now.  Plus they’re only around $10 a pop which is always nice.

Because my legs were on fire, yesterday’s workout was a little random.  I warmed up with 15 min on the rowing machine and then worked my way through some machines.  I was planning on doing chest/triceps but I was having so much fun on the machines that I ended up doing an overall upper body workout.

3 sets of 12 reps at a challenging weight

  • Bench Press
  • Incline bench press
  • Seated chest fly
  • Lateral raise
  • Tricep pull down
  • Lat pull down

And then I headed into the small studio to attempt some jump roping.  After what felt like a million years looking at all the ropes to try to figure out which one would work for me, I took one jump and realized the ceiling was too low  – Doh!  So that didn’t work.  The other studio has a higher ceiling so maybe one day I’ll head over there.

Instead, I jumped rope without a rope.  I alternated about a minute of “jump roping” with a minute of abs.  I ran though of couple of my favorites from here.  I did that whole thing about 5 times.  I ended with some planks and stretching and called it a day.

In the eats department, my breakfast yesterday was a smoothie with spinach from our yard.  It was the standard PB/blueberry recipe (1 cup blueberries, 2 cups spinach, 2 cups milk, 1/4 cup peanut flour, 1 cup greek yogurt) but I felt like it just tasted better because the veggies were grown by me.

My pre-workout snack was cold coconut oatmeal minus the honey.  The other day I’d made oatmeal with the intention of warming it up later but didn’t have time and just ate it cold.  Turns out I love it!  Who knew?  I want to play around with the recipe and try adding in some protein powder or something to see if I can bulk it up a little bit better.  I’m excited about the prospect of this though.  I really haven’t been able to get into the whole “overnight oats” craze but apparently I’m all over cooked oatmeal cold.

Lunch was another protein smoothie…I didn’t take a picture or write down the recipe.  Sorry.  And dinner was leftover pizza and a salad.  So freaking good.

I went to the gym this morning and seriously kicked my butt.  It was by far my best workout of the week and if I thought my buns were sore before, I can only imagine the pain I’ll be in tomorrow. But alas work calls so you’ll have to wait until tomorrow for the recap :)

Question for today – Is anyone else out there a fan of Jillian Michaels’ DVDs?  Are there any other great at home work-outs I should be trying?

Have a great Thursday.  You only have one more day until Friday.

14 thoughts on “Thank you Jillian

  1. I love Jillian tapes! They kick your butt! I really like the Shred ones, great quick circuits when you’re pressed for time. I”ll have to check out the one you did-sounds great/painful ;)

    • Yeah, I have all the shred ones including her newest extreme shed & shred. I’ve only done that one a couple times but it might be my least fave. She mixes it up with a ton of different types of exercises and I have a hard time figuring them all out. The leg one is awesome though.

    • It’s great. You’ll love it. You do need a chair for levels 2 and 3 which I don’t have (how do I not have a chair in my entire house) but I was able to modify what she was doing or just did squats instead.

    • You seriously need to try her DVDs. Start out with 30 day shred. It was her 1st and it’s my favorite. If I really want a good workout I’ll do at least 2 of the levels together to get about a 45 min workout.

  2. I love Jillian’s videos. For variety, I also enjoy Jackie Warner’s videos. I have Power Circuit Training and Xtreme Timesaver (my fave). Jackie typically has you do each move for 60 seconds. It’s not as cardio intensive as Jillian’s but still a good workout and my arms burn afterward.

  3. I love Jillian’s dvds, they always leave me sore! I have the shred and yoga meltdown. I really like the yoga dvd because I enjoy cardio more than yoga itself (and this kinda combines it) but I know some people don’t enjoy that.

  4. My sister raves about Jillian’s DVDs too. Not sure if I’m up for the hobbling part, but the rest sounds fantastic!! Thanks for a good read :)

Leave a Reply

