No use crying over spilled milkshake

I mentioned yesterday that I was at a photoshoot and while it was fun, it was also a little rough at the beginning.  We had to make some shifts on the fly but needless to say, we wrapped day one.  4 more to go :)  But it got me to thinking about going with the flow and how to deal with things when life doesn’t go according to schedule.

For me, I’ve always been someone who tries not to sweat the small stuff and dwell on the past.  One of my favorite quotes of all time is from Grease, “No use crying over spilled milkshake.” If you’ve never seen Grease, you must.  It’s one of my favorite movies.  And basically in this scene Frenchie has dropped out of high school, flunked out of beauty school and is generally bummed out about life.  And then someone spills some milkshake on her.  And of course, the wise old waitress at the dinner offers her some sage advice.

I mean I just love it.  It’s perfect.  No use crying about it.  The milkshake is spilled and there’s nothing else you can do about it except clean it up.  And that’s kind of how I feel in general about things that don’t go according to plan.  Just accept it and figure out a way to go from there.

And that also applies when it comes to fitness (see that nice transition there, I’m so tricky) and what to do when your fitness/diet/health plans don’t go exactly as you’d like. I had planned on getting up yesterday and riding the bike.  I’d planned not to eat any junk food at the studio.  And I’d planned to run back to my desk and drink a protein shake for lunch.  But guess what?  None of those things happened.  Oh well, no use crying over spilled milkshake.  Nothing I can do to change the past.  I can only affect the future.  And luckily the shoot wrapped a little earlier than planned and I was able to get to the gym for 30 minutes of cardio and a quick arm circuit.  And then we had some stir-fry.

Veggies

Noodles, veggies + chicken

Chicken Stir-Fry:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts grilled on the griddler for 7 minutes
  • Noodles – we use soba but rice would also be good
  • Veggies – we do red/orange peppers and broccoli
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • A couple of tablespoons low sodium soy sauce

While the chicken is grilling, boil the noodles and saute the veggies, olive oil and some of the soy sauce in a big wok.  Once the noods and chicken are done, add everything to the wok, add a little more soy sauce and saute for a couple of minutes.  This is not an exact science kind of recipe.  I usually just leave everything on the heat until the veggies are to my liking.  I’ll try to time things next time.

I should also note that I made a big batch of roasted brussels sprouts and ate them all before dinner.  I was planning on saving half for tomorrow but clearly that didn’t work.  It’s getting out of control.  Who loves brussels sprouts this much?  Are you guys fans of the sprouts?  Are there other random veggies that you love?

I’m off to another full day of peanut M&M eating photo shooting.  We’ll see what happens today.  Can’t believe I only have one more day until Friday.  This week is flying by.  Hope you feel the same.

12 thoughts on “No use crying over spilled milkshake

  1. I LOVE that saying! I was having a ridiculously bad day a few months ago and was on the verge of tears and then dropped my plate of dinner that I had just cooked – sending it everywhere and breaking the dish. I remember my friends looking at me like omg, she is going to cry right now, but instead I started laughing and said, “no use crying over spilled milk” (not sure why I have always said milk not milkshake) and they pretty much thought i was insane. Sometimes though you just have to clean it up and move on!

    I absolutely love spinach. I swear, I basically could eat it raw out of the bag.

    • I think the original saying is milk? But the Grease writers probably changed it or something to fit the scene? Glad you were able to laugh at your bad day. Sometimes laughter is the best medicine.

      I put spinach in my smoothie or I’ll eat it in a salad but it’s more of something I force myself to do than because I actually love it.

  2. Beauty School drop out…Got back to high school….. Wasn’t that Frankie Avalon?

    I love Grease! One of my favorite movies too. And your right. NO use crying. It’s done and over with. The better way to go would be just to move on. I use the same advice in my health/fitness world. In fact that’s how I managed to keep my 60 lbs of extra fat, that I lost 5 yrs ago, off. Sometimes I mess up- I’ll have a whole day’s worth of junk food and no exercise. I try to plan to eat a whole wheat turkey sandwich, but they day has its own agenda for me. Things happen and I end up eating a chicken sandwich and french fries instead. If I cried over my “spilled milkshake” so to speak, frustration would have spiraled in like a tornado, causing chaos and reeking havoc.

    Instead of crying, clean the shake up for heavens sake! and go make yourself another one. There’s plenty of strawberry ice cream in the fridge! the same can be said in life. :)

    • Yep, totally Frankie :) Congratulations on losing the weight and keeping it off!! That is awesome! And I love your outlook. I’m the same way. Sometimes life happens so you do your best and keep going. PS I’m totally smiling right now at your strawberry milkshake comment. I might have to use that line in the future.

  3. “Nothing I can do to change the past. I can only affect the future.” – great quote!

    My wife and I love roasted brussel sprouts, too! Especially my wife. She can eat ungodly amounts of them at one sitting. lol.

    • That is a fantastic quote. And great outlook! My husband thinks I’m crazy for loving the sprouts. I wanted to add them to the stir fry last night but that didn’t happen hahah.

  4. Grease is my all time favorite movie!! Great quote!
    As far as brussel sprouts… You are not alone in your love for them. I can’t get enough! :)

  5. LOVE, love brussels sprouts, especially roasted like that! And a good reminder for me today to not cry over the spilled milkshake – it’s funny, sometimes when that milkshake spills is the best thing that could have happened.

  6. I love brussel sprouts too! I never had them until I got to college because my Chinese parents didn’t even know what they were. So glad I tried them after hearing how awful they were from my friends for years :)

Leave a Reply

