Sunday Fun-day…with bikes!

Yesterday was awesome.  Not only was I super productive but I spent the entire afternoon outside.

Chance was up and at em at 7:30 in the morning and while I really wanted to sleep in I made myself get up and crank out a Jillian.  Level 4 of Ripped in 30.  I was still sore from Friday’s Jillian’s and barely made it through (even had to drop down to my knees for some push ups).  After that, I popped in some laundry and then I rode the spin bike for 50 minutes.  More laundry and then I headed into the kitchen where I roasted some veggies and cooked quinoa for lunches for the week.

Oh yeah, and before that, for breakfast I made myself a:

Strawberry cheesecake protein smoothie:

  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 2 tablespoons sugar-free/fat-free cheesecake instant pudding
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries

And by the way, all of this happened before noon.  At which point I headed to the airport to pick up Chris.  And we headed straight to the Hillsdale Farmer’s Market.  It was our first time there and even though we didn’t buy anything we saw some awesome stands.  We’ll definitely be spending more time there this summer.

After the market we headed home, had some lunch (kale chips plus toast with almond butter for me) and then got out our bikes.  I’ve mentioned before that we like to cruise into the village on our bikes and because the weather was amazing and Chris wanted to embrace our neighborhood after spending a weekend in Sin City we decided to have a Sunday Fun-day.

Our 1st stop was Lucky Lab where we met up with Dan and Cassie.

And after that we headed into Hillsdale (still on our bikes) to the Hilllsdale Brew Pub where I had a purple haze.  So delicious.

And then we headed to Salvador Molly’s where I had a margarita and a delicious salad with black beans, corn, cojita cheese, salsa and guacamole.  Delicious.  I didn’t take any pictures so you’ll have to imagine.  FYI if you ever come to Portland you have to check out Salvador Molly’s.  It’s been featured on Man Vs. Food for their great balls of fire challenge (basically you have to eat 5 of these super spicy balls.  I’ve eaten a 1/4 of one and thought I was going to die).

It was almost 8 by the time we rode home and we decided to go back through the village which made for a few more hills than I was anticipating (normally it’s downhill all the way home).  It’s about 3 miles from our house to Salvador Molly’s so if you just counted that, we would have ridden 6 miles but because we rode around various spots in the village I’m thinking maybe we were closer to 7 or 8?  So that, plus my time on the spin bike earlier in the day, and all the hills…leg burner for sure.

Moral of the story?  Take your workouts outside.  Yesterday was so much fun, I enjoyed every single minute of it, even those crazy hills.  Granted, the sun had a huge amount to do with it – who doesn’t like feeling heat on their back while sipping on a delicious brew?  But I definitely pushed myself up those hills to keep up with Chris and got a solid workout.  So much more enjoyable than plugging away mindlessly on a treadmill or exercise bike.  I mean, working out yesterday was fun!  So much in fact that we might end up taking it outside again today.  In a crazy turn of events, Portland may be getting sunshine for an entire week so I think after dinner we’re going to go strap on our bike helmets and race up some hills.

Did anyone else do anything active outside this weekend?  Or have any plans to workout outside this week?

 

9 thoughts on “Sunday Fun-day…with bikes!

  1. I love outdoor workouts, especially bike rides like that because it doesn’t feel like a workout at all! So enjoyable :) I keep waiting for nice weather in the Northeast to get outside and be more active!

    • Hopefully you get some good weather soon. This week of sun is totally a tease. We’ll be back to rain next week I’m sure. Typically we don’t get “summer” until after the 4th of July.

  2. What a great day!!! The weather yesterday was perfect for my 1/2 marathon… and even though it was so sunny and beautiful outside, after my run I decided to be a lazy bum and spent my afternoon on the couch resting my legs. :) Either way, it was awesome.

    • I’m so impressed you did the 1/2. With my knees there is no way I could ever do that much. And after running that much you totally earned a restful afternoon.

Leave a Reply

