My favorite strawberry salad

Today is my last day of the photo shoot and I am so excited.  I can’t wait to get back into my normal routine – bringing my own food, lunchtime workouts, actually getting work done.  It’s going to be so nice.

Speaking of nice.  Yesterday was NICE out.  Looks like this sunshine is going to stick around PDX at least through the weekend because Saturday and Sunday are predicted to be in the 80s! And in honor of the nice weather I attempted to get a run in after the shoot yesterday.  But it was not good.  I’d planned to go about 4 miles and seriously about 3 steps into my run I could tell my right knee was not having it.  But I was already out and more than anything I would have felt dumb going right back into the gym so I squeezed out 1.8 miles for a total of 16 minutes of cardio. Not great but it was something.  I just wish my knee would stop hurting.  I keep telling myself I’m going to be able to run Hood to Coast in August but we’ll see.

After my “run,” I came inside and spent 30 minutes in the stretching area doing this little circuit:

  • Clams and leg lifts.  3 sets of 20 reps on each side.
  • 2 sets of 25 swiss ball crunches alternating with 25 swiss ball squats

And then 3 sets of this using a medicine ball:

  • 25 sit-ups
  • 25 chest pass tosses (lying on your back, tossing the ball up)
  • 50 roman twists

And then finished up with:

When we got home, we went on a little mission for some stumps.  Yes, stumps.  See, we’ve been looking for them for a while to complete our backyard fire pit area and when we were bike riding on Sunday we passed a house with a sign that said Free Firewood.  Turns out the wood was chopped up into perfect sitting stumps so last night we came back with the car and loaded up 6.  It felt a little random to be poking around someone’s yard, testing out tree stump chairs but you gotta do what you gotta do right?

After our tree stump mission we came home, and drumroll please…. made my favorite strawberry salad.  I came up with this little beauty 2 summers ago when my lettuce crops were in full bloom and we actually had edible strawberries in the yard.  Our strawberries aren’t ready yet so we had to settle for (organic) store-bought but it was still good.  Plus I made my own dressing instead of using the bottled kind like we’ve done in years past.

This salad is the perfect mix of salty, spicy and sweet.  You’ll love it.  I promise.

(Tastes like summer) Strawberry Chicken Salad
Serves 2

For the chicken:
2 organic boneless, skinless chicken breasts + a spicy rub + a grill
We have some generic Fred Meyer/Kroger spice rub that we put on the chicken but basically you could get the same thing if you mixed up a couple teaspoons of cayanne pepper, chili powder, salt, garlic and some paprika.  The goal is to get the chicken spicy.  After it’s all rubbed up, place it on a grill for about 7 minutes and then flip sides (again, Chris is the grill master…I’m not the expert here).

For the salad:
Rinse, hull and slice half a quart of strawberries.  Add them to a big bowl of greens of your choice (last night we used a lettuce blend but I’ve also done with this a mix of spinach and kale) and add in about 1/4 cup of crumbled gorgonzola cheese and toss the whole thing with dressing.

For the Champagne Vinaigrette Dressing:
Blend the below in a blender, food processor or shake everything up in a mason jar (like us).

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup champagne wine vinegar
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoons dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon granulated garlic (could use a clove but we didn’t have any)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper.

I like to put everything in a big bowl with a lid and shake it all up.  We dish up the salad and then slice up the grilled chicken and add it on top.  So good.

After our delicious dinner we decided to hop on our bikes and ended up riding around for about 40 minutes (and my knee barely bugged me which was good).  We rode through Multnomah Village and around some hilly streets, exploring neighborhoods.  It was great.  Our goal is to one day move closer to the village and last night we found a couple new areas so it was fun to look at the houses and pick out our favorites.  Not to mention it was freaking beautiful last night.  The sun was just setting and there was that awesome pink hue to the sky.  You can’t beat nights like that in Portland.

When we got home from the bikes, Chris climbed up into the attic and pulled down our golf clubs.  He’s off to another bachelor party this weekend where they’ll be golfing so he wants to hit up the driving range this week for some practice.  I also really need some practice.  I love golfing but I totally suck at it.  I took lessons last spring but I don’t know how much they helped.  Even last night I picked up one of my irons and could barely remember how to hold it hahah.  I’m sure the driving range will be interesting.

Do any of you guys golf?  For a long time I thought it was the most boring sport ever but now that I’ve gone out and done it I appreciate it so much more – you get a workout (if you don’t use a cart), while (usually) playing nice weather and there’s a cart that drives around and offers you drinks.  Can’t beat that right?

5 thoughts on “My favorite strawberry salad

  1. Gonna make this salad next week :) I love to golf with my husband. It’s fun to do on a Friday night, when I crave Mexican food. It takes my mind off wanting it. We walk most of the time and enjoying playing with my 10 year old too. Love your blog! Summer in Portland sounds nice! Always looking for support and reading about how to be healthier! On my journey to eating cleaner. I got the working out part down and train weights 3 days week and lots of cardio during the week as well. Love how you have a garden. Maybe one day for me :0

  2. My husband and I love to golf. We like to play on Friday nights. It takes my mind off craving mexican food. We try to walk as much as possible and my 10 year old plays too. Gonna try this salad next week. Love your blog. Portland sounds nice and would like to visit one day. I am working on eating cleaner and looking for all the support I can find. I can work out like crazy women but food is my weekness. I find the more I read about food and see sites like yours, I am more and more motivated! Love that you have a garden. Thanks for all you share :)

    • Food is definitely my weakness too. I just love the flavor of it all. I love your idea about going on walks to take your mind off mexican. That is totally something I could see myself doing :)

Leave a Reply

