No resting at the gym

Yesterday at the gym I saw 6 different people on the elliptical resting their arms during their workout.  6.  6 people.  Including a guy.  That’s crazy to me.  I get that some days you’re going to hop on a bike or elliptical with a trashy gossip magazine and leisurely pedal your way through 30 minutes of easy cardio but I just don’t believe that all 6 of these people were having that type of day.  I think these people we just phoning it in (Jillian Michaels’ term)  a little bit and not giving it all their all.  When you’re doing your cardio, do your cardio.  Work up a sweat.  Move your arms!  Do not rest them on the sides of the machine.  You’ll raise your heart rate and burn more calories.  And while we’re on the topic of cardio, please add some resistance.  It’s great if you’re pumping your arms and moving your legs but you need some resistance on there to make a difference.  Plus it will help you build muscle.  And that’s good.

Now that I’m done ranting, here’s what I did at the gym:

20 minute warm-up on the rowing machine
Leg Extension: 50 lbs. 3 sets of 20 reps
Leg/Chest circuit 3 times through:

  • Deadlifts – 50 lbs.  15 reps
  • Squats – 50 lbs.  15 reps
  • Squats with leg lift – 15 on each side
  • Chest flies (lying on a weight bench) – 15 lbs. 12 reps.
  • Chest press (lying on a weight bench) – 15 bs.  12 reps
  • Step ups – 20 on each leg

Tricep extension – 25lbs.  3 sets of 12.
Leg press: 160 lbs.  3 sets of 12.
20 minutes on the elliptical.  Alternating minutes of level 7 (slower) and level 4 (quick).

I got home and we had a quick protein smoothie to hold us over until dinner.

Banana Strawberry Protein smoothie (serves 2)
Blend everything and enjoy.

  • 1/2 cup frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 4 scoops vanilla protein powder (I use vitacost whey)
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 cup non-fat organic milk

After smoothies, we headed to the driving range where I realized that all of my golf lessons from last year have been forgotten.  I was pretty bad.  More than 50% of the time I swung a club and didn’t hit a ball.  But it was still fun.  I’m going to go back this weekend.

And then after golf we headed into the village and hit up Lucky Lab where I only ate one slice of pizza.  That’s big.  I never eat just one slice.  Go me.  And then we headed to Journeys.  1st time there in 2 weeks!  I had two glasses of Rose and then we headed home.

Talk about no rest!  I was go go going until 10pm.  Sheesh.  Things are almost back to normal today.  Longer than normal morning meeting but I’m going to try to get to pilates at 1:15.  Can’t wait.

Question for you – when you’re at the gym, are you guilty of not giving your all?  Do you rest your arms on the elliptical?  Or veg out and watch TV?

 

14 thoughts on “No resting at the gym

  1. If I’m going to veg out, it’s going to be at home on my couch… NOT at the gym. It makes me so angry when I see people doing that, especially if they are on a machine that I want to use!!!

  2. I work at a gym and I see TONS of people basically doing nothing at the gym. They always ask me why they don’t see any results and have to (kindly) tell them, they need to move their butt! Leisurely peddling a bike or on the elliptical isn’t going to do ANYTHING for your body. You need to sweat and be tired!

  3. I laughed at the elliptical part! So, I RARELY use the elliptical…I usually head straight for the treadmills when I go to the gym. I don’t actually like the elliptical, I just prefer a good ol’ run. Anyway, when I DO use it (when I’m injured or whatever), I actually don’t use the moving hand things! I either lightly hold on (cause I have no balance) or pump them at my side…the funny part is…I usual rest them because when they just hang freely, i hit them on the machine! So I had to laugh at that part! I am clumsy though!

    • I don’t really like the moving arm ones either. I feel like they’re really awkward. I usually just pump my arms at my side. And I can never go backwards on one – I’m super clumsy too. I’ve almost fallen off a couple times hahah.

  4. The elliptical’s what I do when I don’t really feel like working out, but still want to do “something”….but I still try not to just rest my arms…..even so, I don’t always break a sweat on it so I’m def guilty of being a lazy person at the gym occassionally– those days make me feel better about myself for going, but I bet it’s doing nothing for my body!

    • Oh I think everyone has those days. I know I’m totally guilty of it. I was just blown away by seeing 6 people doing it at once. And I agree, even resting on a treadmill is more than sitting on your couch hahah

  5. haha you might judge me when I am having a slack off on the eliptical and read my magazine type of day. Today I read my Pilates certification books. I miss golfing! This post makes me want to go to the driving range!

    • Um if you are reading pilates certification books that is not slacking. That feels like a workout in itself. I’m going to try and go to the driving range this weekend if you want to go. But I’m seriously horrible right now. It’s embarrassing.

  6. I hate seeing people being lazy at the gym… If you need to rest that badly, why even bother dragging yourself to the gym? Rest up and have a better day tomorrow. It makes no sense to me!

  7. I completely agree with you about the gym. When I workout – I workout. What’s the point in going if you’re not going to break a sweat (and hopefully be a bit sore next next day :) ) There is nothing like a good cardio session!

Leave a Reply

