Spending time in the garden

We’ve had some seriously amazing weather this week and every day after work I head out to my garden to water my crops. I love it. I planted seeds a couple of weeks ago and slowly I’m seeing the beginning of my summertime dinners.  I know I’ve talked about my yard before but I’d thought I’d give it another shout-out, this time with a focus on what’s in my garden.  I believe as far as food goes, it breaks down like this:

  • 9 fruit trees (2 apple, 2 pear, 2 cherry, 2 pineapple guava, 1 plum)
  • 6 blueberry bushes
  • strawberries
  • blackberries (neighbor’s yard but I pick them so they count)
  • My garden which isn’t fully stocked yet but hopefully will include – beets, spinach, arugula, red/orange/jalapeno peppers, lettuce blend, swiss chard, kale, eggplant, squash, brussels sprouts, and tomatoes
  • Herbs – rosemary, lavender, cilantro, mint…and whatever else I decide to plant this year.

Here are some pics I’ve taken recently.

If you don’t have a garden I highly encourage you to start one.  Even if you only have a little deck – get a pot and grow some spinach.  It’s so easy.  And you will be so excited when you actually get to eat what you grow.  I don’t know, there’s just something so cool about growing your food yourself.  You know exactly where it came from and somehow it just tastes better when you know it was your hard work that got the food to your plate.

If you’re new to gardening, I recommend checking out Sunset.  They’re like my garden bible.  I also love their Western Garden book of Edibles.  And this is a new book they just came out with that I don’t have yet but assuming it’s great –   The new Western Garden Book.  

I’ll keep you posted throughout the summer as we eat our way through our garden :) I still have time to add things so let me know if you have any must-haves things to plant.  Mother’s day weekend is basically the go-to date to get things planted around the pacific northwest so I’m hoping to finalize my backyard crops by Sunday.

13 thoughts on “Spending time in the garden

  1. Wow, you’re so lucky to have a garden! Seeing those pictures my hometown and my parents’s garden comes to my mind straight away :)
    Plus I am jealous of this wonderful weather you are talking about! It is some gloomy and not really warm here in UK :/

  2. I am SO jealous of your garden…. you have quite the spread of food there lady! :) Can’t wait to move into a house so we can have a backyard!!!

    • Backyards are the best. Our house is on the small side and some day I’m sure we’ll have a family and grow out of it. And that makes me sad mostly because of how much I love our backyard. You don’t typically find this much yard but still be in the city.

  3. Sooo jealous of your garden. One day when I live somewhere where I can have a big garden I will. I’ve been saying this my whole life but I kind of need some ground to do it, lol.

    • Do you have a patio? You’d be surprised how much you can grow out of a couple container pots. Although, I get wanting a big garden. I’m still dreaming about a garden where I can have corn.

  4. First your garden and fruit trees sound amazing!!! I was just thinking about how I want to grow something on my roofdeck (but not a clue what). I’m definitely going for spinach now!

    • Yes! Do spinach for sure. It’s super easy and usually produces a big crop (and it keeps growing). The only thing you need to watch for is “bolting.” It’s basically when it gets too hot too fast and the spinach starts to sort of flower. Then you need to pull it out.

  5. Your garden looks great! I’m missing planting one this year (we’re moving in a few weeks – didn’t seem worth the effort just to leave it), but can’t wait to get on in again when we get to the new house. I’d love to hear more about the pineapple guava trees?! We’re moving to a tropical climate so those sound perfect… :)

Leave a Reply

