Return of my running buddy + my favorite bottle of wine

As I’m sure you’re aware (because I mention it on here all the time) I love running but my knees suck. And even though I’ve just completed 2 months of physical therapy (my 2nd time in less than two years) I am still crazy enough to think I can run Hood to Coast in August.  And so I’ve slowly been bringing running back into my workout rotation.  I try to only allow myself 1 run a week and keep it at less than 3 miles.  My physical therapist says I can run as long as the pain level is a 3 or less (I’ve definitely been at a level 10).  And so I was super excited when my favorite running buddy asked me to start getting some regular runs back in with her.

Mandee (who writes over at You Say At Best…go check her out) and I met in pilates a few years ago and not only did we share a love of all things core, but we also realized we both love to run and last summer were on a pretty regular routine…usually running about twice a week.  Well then fast forward through HTC and my running hiatus and well, I didn’t do any running with my buddy because I didn’t do any running at all.  But all of that changed yesterday.  Woo hoo!  3.8 miles at a 0 pain level. I can’t even tell you the last time that happened.  I wore my knee brace (mine is like this) to help stabilize my knee cap and that seriously helped.  I need to remember to wear it more.

But besides the fact that my knees didn’t hurt, my run was so good because Mandee was there running with me. We chatted about blogs, races, weekend plans… I know sometimes I’ve heard that if you can keep a conversation while working out you’re not working out hard enough but I disagree.  It’s hard to run and talk.  And I like that challenge.  And chatting makes the time fly by.  I barely even realized how far we’d gone.  So yeah.  Great day.   Great run.  Great running buddy.  Thanks Mandee!  Can’t wait to get more into a routine.

Question for you – does anyone else have running buddies or workout pals?

After my run I hit the gym for a few weights – deadlifts, squats, step-ups, push-ups and some planks (I rotated through 30 sec of front and side holds for a total of 6 minutes).  And when I got home from work Chris and I took Chance on a walk.

And by the time we got home I was dying.  I felt like every part of my body was sore.  Golf, pilates, running…I’d done it all this week and my muscles were making that clear.  So I spent some time with the foam roller in our “gym.”  Which is still not home to our spin bike (which lives in the guest room) because we still have random office supplies and artwork stored in there.  Oh well, it works for now.

By this time it’s around 6 and I’m feeling great.  Good workout, nice stretches… Feeling pretty good about myself.  And then we went to a family dinner with some friends and everything kind of went downhill :)  We had a nice healthy dinner of grilled chicken and veggie kabobs, asparagus and strawberry kiwi salad.  And I started innocently enough with a slice of Cougar Gold cheese.  For those unfamiliar with this cheese it is amazing.  It’s produced at the Washington State University (my alma mater) creamery and I actually hadn’t eaten any since leaving Pullman 8 years ago.  And needless to say I’m pretty sure I ate my weight in cheese.

But the night doesn’t end there.  Besides eating my weight in cheese, I decided to wash that down with nearly an entire bottle of wine.  Whoops.  My favorite wine was on sale (Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc) and that just spells trouble.  I think my friend had one glass but otherwise I downed the whole thing.  Not sure if it’s a good or bad thing that I pretty much felt fine when we left dinner (maybe wine and cheese cancel each other out?) and someone I managed to get myself out of bed this morning and spend 50 minutes on the spin bike.  If I’m going to play I better work right?

What about you guys?  Do you ever have nights where the drinks are just going down a little too good?

I’m hoping I can keep the rest of my weekend eats and drinks pretty healthy.  Chris is off on another bachelor party so I’m not entirely sure of my plans.  It’s suppose to be in the 80’s this weekend so I’m thinking yard work, backyard sunbathing, the dog park, driving range and Journey’s are all in my future.  Hopefully everyone else has good things planned for the next couple days. Oh and if it’s sunny, make sure to wear some sunscreen.

7 thoughts on “Return of my running buddy + my favorite bottle of wine

  1. Yay for Cougs in Portland!! I’m on a schizophrenic workout routine right now so no buddy for me unless Jillian counts? I’m stoked to try your Zone protein bar recipe this weekend… enjoy the sunshine!!

    • Woo hoo! Go Cougs. I totally think Jillian counts. Although in real life I don’t know if I could take her. I think she’d kill me hahah. FYI on those protein bars – I have been eating them more like a candy bar so be careful if you’re any sort of candy addict like me. I have a hard stopping at just one. I’m going to make them again this weekend and just try drizzling the chocolate on top instead of doing a layer.

  2. Great news about the rehabbed knee! I feel your pain — I used to be a runner but patellofemoral syndrome has plagued my left knee for years now. I have exercises from PT that I can do but I can’t always keep up with them and get in the cardio plus core and upper body that I need to do, so I’ve switched running for biking and elliptical. It’s great to hear that pilates has made a difference — I might try that now.

    • Sorry to hear about your knee injuries. I have a bunch of exercises from PT that I’m suppose to do everyday and seriously sometimes I get so overwhelmed at all the things I need to do to get better. I did find that a lot of the PT exercises were pilates based so I told myself that if I did pilates then I wouldn’t have to do my home exercises. Not sure if that’s the best way to go but sometimes you have to pick a lane and move :)

  3. Of course sometimes there is more alcohol than it should be ;) We are all humans! ;) What I do the next day is to go to sauna and get rid of the toxins. Rarely I will do workout the day after as I will be feeling weak ;)

    I need to find out how to use this this foam roller! Good to hear you had running free of pain! Well done, I am still getting there ;)

Leave a Reply

