I have jello legs

My inner thighs are killing me.  Is that even appropriate to say out loud?  I mean like I’m hobbling down the hall.  Awkward.

Why you ask?

Well, on Monday I went to a pilates reformer class and only one other person showed up so it was basically like having a private lesson.  We flew through things and ended with side splits.  Here’s an example if you’re not familiar.  We did the 1st series you see but not the saw.  We also did a series where you “pick the flowers” meaning you bend down and circle your arms around as you come back up.  Followed by “skaters” and some plie squats…all of these still on the reformer.  If you don’t have a clue what I’m talking about, let me know.  I have a friend who knows way more about pilates than me and would be a great person to guest post on here.  Mandee…hint hint :)

I was a little sore when I woke up on Tuesday but it was so beautiful out (in the 80’s) that I decided to give it a shot and run anyway and somehow I managed to go 3.6 miles at an 8:30 pace!  I never run that fast, I’m always closer to 9’s.  I seriously couldn’t believe it especially because I felt like I was dragging during my run.  I don’t know if it was the heat or sore legs from pilates but I’m convinced that anyone driving by me must have gotten a good laugh.  It could not have been pretty.  In fact, I’m sure I looked like the bottom girl.

Image source

And because I apparently like torture I decided to do a quick weight circuit after I finished my run.

Leg press: 90 lbs.  3 sets of 12
3 sets of this:

3 sets of this on a weight bench

  • 25 V-ins
  • 50 roman twists
  • 20 step-ups each leg

Followed by some solid foam rolling.

No joke, when I got into the locker room to shower my legs were so shaky I could barely walk.  They’ll get like that during a workout but usually by the time I’ve stretched and cooled down they’ve stopped.  I’ll admit though, that I loved it.  I love the feeling of pushing my body hard and really working up a sweat.  By the way, my entire workout (run + weights) yesterday took me just under 60 minutes.  I dare you to try and beat it :)

Question for you – what’s your favorite legs workout?  The one you can always count on to make your legs shake like jello?

 

6 thoughts on “I have jello legs

  1. Awesome job on your run! Isn’t that jello feeling the best?! It always reminds me how hard I worked, even if I am bitching and complaing as I walk up and down the stairs ;)

  2. I love the jello feeling :) Really makes you realize how hard you worked!

    And I would love to see a pilates guest post from your friend!

  3. Haha, that is my favorite running picture ever! Nice job on the run!

    I love the jello leg feeling! Sometimes I feel it after certain cardio workouts (like a really hilly bike ride) but usually it’s after squats and wall sits!

Leave a Reply

