Wake-up Call

My in-laws and Chris & I are all members of Willakenzie Estates and they held a special tasting event yesterday so all of us, plus a couple of our friends headed out to wine country for a day in the vineyards.  We went to Willakenzie along with Penner Ash and tasted some great wines.

Ladies

My husband & In-laws

When we got home we went to Sasquatch brewery for dinner and then headed to Journeys.

And then I woke up this morning and had a bit of a come to Jesus moment when I had a hard time getting my wedding rings on.  Not a good sign.  I got on the scale and 139 lbs flashed up at me.  139.  Um, I can’t even tell you the last time I weighed that much.  5 years ago maybe?  I’m 5’7 so it’s not like 139 is overweight so don’t think I’m saying that.  I’m just saying that for me, this is quite a bit higher than I’d like.  I usually hover closer to 132-135 with my ideal weight being about 130.  So seeing this number on the scale was a wake-up call.  Some of it obviously was from yesterday – the alcohol, the salt…and I’ll give a pound or two to some extra muscle, but still, that’s a lot higher than it should be.

I talk a lot about balance here on this blog.  I mean, we only have one life and I certainly do my best to enjoy it and for the most part, I do a pretty good job of balancing out the nights at Journeys with a day in the gym.  But lately I’ll admit that things have gotten a bit out of hand, especially with the unexpected nice weather.  Sunny evenings make enjoying a glass of beer/wine (or 2 or 3) a lot easier to justify.  “It’s so nice out, let’s go to Journey’s” or “let’s BBQ and open a bottle of wine.”  And then at least for me, the drinking will lead to snacking.  We’ll come home from wherever and it’s usually been quite a while since we ate dinner so I want something to snack on and end up raiding our kitchen – dried apricots, dark chocolate squares, chips…  Or worse, we’re out at whatever bar (let’s be honest, I’m referring to Journey’s) for a while and I’m watching people all around me eat and then I order a snack at 10pm.  Extra calories and I’m not even hungry.

I’m not posting this because I want sympathy or people to say “oh you look great,” or “the scale isn’t always an accurate measure of your fitness level.”  I’m posting this because way back when, this blog was a place for me to hold myself accountable.  And right now, I need a bit of a wake-up call.   To remind myself that we’re heading into the heart of summertime and I need to pull it together.  1 glass of wine.  1 beer.  No snacks when I’m not hungry.  Appropriate portion sizes.  Hopefully if I put it out here I’ll be better about sticking to it.  And for anyone out there reading, feel free to call out me out if you see pics of us at Journey’s or hear me on Twitter talking about our night out.  Hold me accountable.  Keep me honest.   I’d really appreciate it.

4 thoughts on “Wake-up Call

  1. First of all…I totally understand. I got on the scale this morning and it said 163. Granted, I’m getting my period and that’s usually a couple pounds, plus, I boozed it up all weekend…but I was frustrated and upset to say the least. I then went and ran a 10K because I was so pissed at myself. I should be weighing in around 156.

    The one thing that I am TRYING to get better about is a good self image regardless of my size. I know that I’m in some of the BEST shape of my life, so whether or not my size reflects it…I shouldn’t care. The thing is, I HATE the way it feels in my clothes.That’s what gets me. I hate that my jeans pull at the waist, or my shirts show a little pudge in the stomach area…just creates an all over icky feeling.

    I get it and will hold you accountable through this…or a daily email if that’s what you need. I need one too…so please hold me accountable as well. We will get back down. Have faith. You aren’t in this boat alone :)

    Just know that although you can feel the weight…nobody can see it. You always look great. That being said, I get it. Totally. Chin up, girl.

    • Thanks friend :) I’m with you. I know I’m in shape but it’s the clothes. I hate that my jeans that always fit are tight in my hips or that I can feel a little muffin top. I think I wouldn’t mind so much if I knew that my diet was totally clean but the weekend drinks are starting to kick my butt. I’m all for a little accountability. Lets do it. Also, you look amazing!

  2. Such a great, honest post- I think we all deal with this at times and it’s so hard. I’m going through the same thing. Ive fallen into the “I’ll just have “a few” chips” thing and pretty soon I’ve totally blown it…or I don’t eat enough during the day and then raid the kitchen when I get home. It sucks when my clothes are tighter (ahem…now). It’s been harder than I thought to get back into the swing of things and kick my bad habits. Trying to take it one day at a time though. Your wine trip looked like a blast!

Leave a Reply

