Quick and Easy Salads

Now that summer is getting closer I usually want to eat lighter meals.  Cozy evenings where I sit on the couch and eat chili are being replaced by nights I want to be out on the deck with a huge salad and maybe a popsicle :)  So I thought I’d share some of my favorite salad recipes.  Not that I’m lazy or anything but I was going to write out a bunch of recipes but then I figured Pinterest could help me tell a better story.  So I created a board and pinned a bunch of ideas on it.  Go check it out and let me know what you think:

Whit Likes Fit Summer Salads

Some of my all time favorite combinations are beets and goat cheese, or strawberries with Gorgonzola.  There’s something about the salty & sweet combo that totally hits the spot.  I’ve also been reading a lot about watermelon and feta so I’ll be testing out some of those recipes later on this year too.  You can never go wrong with a southwestern version with corn, black beans or a citrus version with oranges and grapefruit.  Really the possibilities are endless.  Go experiment with new combos and see what you can come up with.

Oh, I also pinned some homemade dressing ideas.  We’ve really been trying to eliminate store-bought dressings especially now that I’ve learned how easy it is to make my own.  My favorite will always be honey mustard (mustard, honey, rice wine vinegar) but I’ve also done a champagne vinaigrette and have plans to try a cilantro-lime.

Do you have any favorite salads?  Any great recipes that I need to try?  Is there anything else you crave when the weather heats up?

3 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Salads

  1. I crave grilled veggies! And love making cold/hot salads with them — tossing some grilled asparagus or zukes with some arugula and ripe tomatoes or grilling some romaine lettuce and serving it with raw veggies. Cool Pinterest board!

  2. I like spinach salad with strawberries, goat or blue cheese, sliced almonds and dried cranberries. yum! balsamic is the best on that. I wish I made my own dressings…

Leave a Reply

