Working out on vacation

I think I seriously have summer on the brain.  “Summer” in the Pacific Northwest really doesn’t start until the 4th of July and the calendar says it doesn’t start until June 21st, but my brain will always associate it with June 1.  June = Summer.  And with summer, comes vacations.  And with vacations come less working out.  It’s not always intentional.  Anytime I’ve ever gone on vacation I pack workout clothes and I tell myself that I will be doing something active every day…that I’ll run or hit the hotel gym or something.  But no matter what, even with my best intentions, there are days on my vacations where the only thing active I do is walking from my hotel room to the beach.  Eh, what can you do right? But I thought it wouldn’t hurt to be a little pro-active and throw out a couple of easy vacation-friendly workout ideas.  No gym required.

Hiking
On every vacation Chris and I have taken, we’ve hiked or walked somewhere.  He is huge into exploring.  To see how the locals experience whatever place we happen to be.  Sometimes this drives me nuts because all I want to do is lay down on a beach towel with a book. But I admit, I’m always glad we check things out.  Plus, you get a great workout.   Make sure to pack a good pair of sneakers because even if it’s just walking to the store to grab some snacks, your feet will like them better than flip flops.

Hiking – Maui 2012

Swimming
I love to swim.  My grandma lived on lakes my whole life so I grew up in the water but somehow I’ve never managed to figure out how to swim the freestyle.  I think it’s the hand-eye-breathing coordination that does me in… But I can swim a mean breaststroke (as long as no one expects me to put my head in the water).  Did you know swimming for an hour burns about 600 calories?  And it’s a total body workout – every muscle is firing to keep you moving.  I’ve also found that swimming doesn’t feel like a workout to me.  It’s just having fun in the water.  We’ve swam in oceans, rivers, lakes and pools.  Even if we’re just somewhere with a small hotel pool I’ll crank out some laps to get some cardio in.

Swimming – Bora Bora 2010

Paddle Boarding
If you’ve never paddle boarded, you must!  It’s so fun.  And a much harder workout than I initially anticipated.  You really have to have strong core muscles to keep yourself up on that board and you can burn around 300 calories in an hour (more if you’re battling serious currents).  Here’s a little background if you’re not sure what it is. We wanted to go when we were in Maui but the surf was too rough from storms so I’m hoping to try it next time we’re in Mexico or even Bend this summer.

Paddle Boarding – Sayulita 2011

Hotel room workouts
I’ve been doing a lot of these types of workouts lately.  No gym or equipment needed interval circuits that get your heart racing and tone your muscles.  A couple recent examples include my 200 push-ups and rainy day workouts.  Really, you just need to mix in short cardio intervals – think 30 sec to a minute with some toning exercise (squats, push-ups etc).  Pick about 5 that you like and do them 5 times through.  Here are a few options to pick from:

Cardio bursts:

  • Jumping jacks
  • High knees
  • Jump rope
  • Double jump rope
  • Butt kicks
  • Skaters
  • Moguls
  • Single leg hops
  • Burpees
  • Mountain climbers
  • Plank jacks

Toning:

  • Sit-ups
  • Crunches
  • Squats
  • Lunges
  • Push-ups
  • Planks
  • Leg lifts

So there you go.  A couple of ideas to help you keep moving on your next vacation.  Make sure you pack some sneakers, a pair of shorts and a sports bra (for the ladies).  Don’t get me wrong, vacations are meant to be a time to relax and you can certainly find me with my nose in a book but I do try to do something active every day.  Even if it is just walking down to grab a coffee at the local cafe.

What about you guys?  Do you have any sneaky travel workout ideas for me?

 

 

One thought on “Working out on vacation

Leave a Reply

