Snacking on Strawberries

I bought Bob Harper’s, The Skinny Rules over the weekend and while I’ll admit that I haven’t really read it yet, I did skim the table of contents to see what all the rules were.  Overall, there was nothing super surprising in the book.  Just good common sense with helpful ways to actually do them.  I’ll try and talk about all the variety of rules as I get further along in the book but here are a couple that I’ll talk about today:

  • Eat apples and berries every single day
  • Eat 30-50 grams of fiber every day
  • Eat protein with every single meal

I actually try to do these 3 things every day anyway.  I have blueberries every morning in my smoothie, make sure I eat things high in fiber (whole wheat pasta, apples) and thanks to Chris, never eat a meal without protein (he’s a firm believer in eating protein to keep you full).  However, as I was looking at Bob’s list of high-fiber foods, I was surprised that strawberries are at the top of the list.  He says that 1/2 cup of strawberries have 9 grams of fiber!  That’s a lot!  And so I was thinking, “hmmm, how could I combine those 3 rules into 1 healthy snack?”  Oh wait, I know.  Strawberries and greek yogurt for my mid-morning snack.  So I chopped up a bunch of strawberries and plan on taking them to work and mixing them in with non-fat, plain greek yogurt.  An under 200 calorie snack with 15+ grams of protein and 9 grams of fiber.  Pretty good, don’t you think?

Oh and this has nothing to do with strawberries but more to do with fiber…Bob included this protein/fiber/meal replacement drink. I haven’t made it yet but definitely will be trying it out. You know how I love my smoothies.

Bob Harper’s Mean, Green Drink Meal Replacement

  • 2 tablespoons protein powder
  • 1 cup chopped fresh kale
  • 1 cup frozen spinach
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 small banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
  • 20 ounces water

Directions: Blend everything up in a blender.  Enjoy
14g fiber, 340 calories.

Thoughts on Bob’s rules?  Makes total sense.  Good antioxidants and fiber in the fruit plus protein to keep you full.  No brainier if you ask me.  Sometimes it just has to be spelled out in plain English to make you actually do it.

Has anyone else read The Skinny Rules?

5 thoughts on “Snacking on Strawberries

  1. I <3 strawberries! I also eat them (along w/ blueberries) either as a snack w/ greek yogurt or in my post work out protein shake. The other day I had voskos greek yogurt, blueberries, strawberries and a handful of the Bear Naked Vanilla Almond granola. It was so good. You should try it.

    Living near Plant City I have to eat strawberries. This area is known for its strawberries. In fact strawberries are so big over there that we have our own strawberry festival every year (complete w/ a strawberry queen)

    I've never read the book but now you caught my attention and I'm going to check it out. The newest healthy book I'm dying to get my paws on is The Gourmet Nutrition Cookbook. I've heard it's got some great recipes and give you meals plans, too. You can only buy it online.

    Your right that his book sounds like common sense. I do most of those things: eat berries and fiber. Though I probably need more protein in my diet.

    • I need to eat granola more. I think having a little more crunch in my yogurt snacks would make me enjoy it a little more. Sometimes the texture of yogurt bugs me haha. Totally jealous of the strawberry festival. I would love to go to something like that. Also going to look into that cookbook. Sounds great! Thanks for the tip.

  2. Strawberries are delicious, especially now that they are in season. The only thing I would be aware of, especially when combining berries with yogurt or granola is the total sugar content. Blueberries (also delicious right now) and raspberries are lower in sugar than strawberries. Thus, I would say to keep some variety in your berry selection and be aware of the sugar content whenever talking about fiber.
    I berry much enjoyed this post. Thanks for the book recommendation.

    • I didn’t realize that about raspberries. Good to know. I was thinking about making my own homemade granola or glazing some walnuts in a little honey or something for a slight sweet kick.

Leave a Reply

