A bar without beer

I did it!  We went to Journey’s last night and I didn’t have anything to drink!  I can’t even remember the last time that happened (if it ever has).  I told myself when I got back from Mexico I would try to cut back on the booze…even toying with the idea of going a week without drinking (except we have a wedding this Saturday so that might be tough).  Anyway, when Chris said he wanted to go to Journey’s I was kind of bummed.  I didn’t want to deal with the temptation but I made it.  He had a beer and I had nothing.  Proud of myself :)

In fact, yesterday was a pretty good day overall for one that did not include a pool and a lounge chair.

Breakfast was a blueberry smoothie but I’m not ready to share the recipe yet.  I decided I’m done using fake protein powder of any sorts and am just going to use non-fat plain greek yogurt.  It’s still a bit sour even with some honey so I’m still playing around with it.

My pre-workout snack also featured greek yogurt – along with raspberries, honey and a few walnuts.  And while it looked and tasted great in person, it looks a little gross in this picture.  Apologies.

I headed to the gym around noon for a 60 minute sweat session that looked a little like this:

  • 30 minutes on the elliptical – alternating between levels 7 & 10.
  • 15 minutes on the rowing machine (my back is super sore right now by the way)
  • 15 minutes on the stair mill.  5 minutes on level 8 followed by 10 minutes of 1 minute intervals between levels 8 and 12.  My hands never rested on the handrails.
  • 50 crunches (feet on floor)
  • 50 crunches (feet raised, knees bent)
  • 50 crunches (legs extended)
  • 50 oblique crunches per side
  • 1 minute plank
  • 2 minute wall sit

After that I came back and had a delicious lunch of quinoa, roasted kale, peas, roasted chick peas and goat gouda.  Yum.

Dinner was one of my faves:  strawberry salad, sweet potato fries, homemade honey mustard dipping sauce, and a bun-less turkey burger with pepper jack cheese and avocado.

And we spent the rest of the evening catching up on DVR’d shows – The Office and Revenge.

Something to ponder – can you believe it’s June 1st already?  I feel like the days are flying by.  Just curious if this is happening to anyone else?  Summer doesn’t really happen in Oregon until after 4th of July but I still fee like it’s unofficially here tomorrow.  Kind of stresses me out.  We still don’t have any camping trips of country concerts planned.  Gotta get on that.

Happy Friday to everyone.  Do you have any fun plans this weekend?  We have a wedding on Saturday and a friend’s baby shower on Sunday.

4 thoughts on “A bar without beer

  1. I tried going 3 weeks without alcohol to give my liver a much needed break from all the vino. I only lasted 1 week! A sunny holiday weekend is what broke me down. You can’t go to a BBQ and not have Rose. Plus everyone thought I was pregnant or just plain weird. :)

    • I had a glass of wine last night so I only lasted 4 days! It’s hilarious that at our age if we don’t drink people automatically think you’re preggo. Cracks me up.

Leave a Reply

