Roasted sweet potatoes, black beans, corn & Quinoa

Random fact – did you know when I first read about quinoa I pronounced it key-no-a?  Even though that I now know it’s pronounced keen-wa, I still have to say it phonetically in my head to write it.

For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, Quinoa is an ancient grain getting tons of buzz these days.  While similar to rice in its food pairings, it offers additional benefits like protein, fiber and manganese and it’s also gluten-free (so are most rices FYI).  You can read more about it here.

A couple of notes about quinoa…1 cup dry makes 4 cups cooked and each cooked cup has 222 calories and 8 g of protein.  To cook quinoa, you need to rinse it first (I just dump it in a fine mesh colander and run it under water) and then bring it and water to a boil.  Once you’ve reached the boiling point, cover, turn to low and simmer until all the water has evaporated, usually about 10-20 min.  For me, I’ve found the best ratio for cooking it is 2 parts liquid to 1 part dry quinoa.  For big lunch batches I usually do 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups water.  As long as you remember to just double the water, you should be all set!

If you haven’t had quinoa, you should.  I have fallen in love with its texture, and slightly nutty taste.  So good.  For the past couple weeks, all my lunches have been some sort of quinoa salad and this week was no exception.  I got the inspiration from this recipe here and changed mine up slightly.

Sweet potato black bean Quinoa

  • 1.5 cups dry quinoa
  • 2 cans black beans (drained)
  • 1 can corn (drained)
  • 2 small sweet potatoes (cubed and roasted in olive oil, garlic and cayenne)
  • chopped cilantro
  • approx 1/4 cup shredded goat gouda

Roast the sweet potatoes (I unusually give them about 45 min in a 400 F oven).  Cook the quinoa.  Add in everything else.  Easy!  I then portion everything out into 5 lunch sized containers and store in the fridge.  I made this batch Sunday and am eating the last one today.  Still tastes just as delicious as it did on Monday.

For more quinoa ideas you can head on over to Pinterest and check out my I love Quinoa board.

Are you guys fans of quinoa?  Have any favorite recipes to share?

In other news, this week I have been exhausted.  Honestly, I think I’m still dragging from Mexico.  I mean, we got home and went right back to work and then headed straight into a wedding weekend which was followed by a Sunday baby shower which was then followed by an extremely busy couple days at work which was followed by good friends getting into town after midnight on Wednesday which was followed by a BBQ last night (where I stayed up to midnight) to kick off another round of wedding festivities.  Whew – how’s that for run-on sentences?

Anyway, what I’m saying here is that in order to get through the wedding we have on Saturday (which I’m so excited for because it’s two of my favorite people getting hitched) I’m going to need some serious good sleeps and naps between now and then

What do you guys have going on this weekend?  I only have a couple of hours of work before I start mine.  Thank goodness for summer Fridays!  Not sure what we’re doing tonight but tomorrow is the Hopkins wedding!  Can’t wait!  Chris and I are basically responsible for setting this couple up.  I worked with Jon, and Lauren is one of Chris’ good friends.  We went to Vegas almost 3 years ago for an Oregon State football game and I invited Jon down at the last-minute because we had a spare ticket.  He was planning to stay with us in our room but Chris decided to surprise me with an engagement the night before  we went down there so instead of hanging out with the newly engaged couple, he hung out with Lauren.  And they’ve been inseparable ever since.  Can’t wait to share pictures.

Speaking of pictures, I took this one on my iphone and then played around with it in Instagram…and ended up with a smoothie that looks way cooler than it actually is.  Just wanted to put it out there to convince you how cool Blueberry greek yogurt protein smoothies can be.

Happy Friday :)

3 thoughts on “Roasted sweet potatoes, black beans, corn & Quinoa

  1. I love quinoa!

    I definitely used to pronounce it that way. Actually it was funny on the bachelorette last week one of the guys says it qee-no-a at least 3 times. Tricky little pronouncation.

    My favorite is chicken breast stuffed with quinoa, feta and garlic. It’s delicious and so simple to make!

  2. I am making that sweet potato black bean quinoa ASAP. Looks so good! I’m always looking for new healthy lunch recipes so this will be perfect :)

Leave a Reply

