Better with Sriracha

Um, I was going to get to write about how well I’ve eaten today but then I came home, Chris went on a run and I sat here at the counter eating chips and salsa.  I am seriously a chip monster.  I hate having them in the house because I just love them so much I can’t stop.  But if chips and salsa are the worst things I eat today, I guess I can’t complain too much right?

As for the rest of my meals, what I took to work this morning looked like this:

What I actually ate looked a little like this:

  • Breakfast – Blueberry smoothie
  • Lunch – PB (from my foodie penpal) and low sugar strawberry jam on Dave’s Killer Bread.

  • Post workout snack – 1 hard-boiled egg, 3 strawberries and 1 cup plain greek yogurt with 1/2 mixed berries (the berries were frozen when I mixed them up with morning and they were so good by the time I ate them around 3.  All thawed and juicy).

In hindsight I did not need the 3 strawberries…I was just going to eat them and not the yogurt but the berries were so good I was craving more.  And I didn’t eat the apple.  I wasn’t hungry but clearly since I came home and ate the chips I should have tried to hold off my appetite with it instead.

For my workout today I did a pilates reformer class and 30 min on the elliptical after.  My elliptical workout looked a little like this:

  • Min 1-10 warm up.  Level 5 – 7
  • Min 10 – 30 intervals.  1:30 min @ level 10, 30 sec as fast as I could go at level 8.

And then I walked back from the gym in the sunshine.

And for dinner we had one of our staples, shrimp pasta with broccoli.  Except I realized we didn’t have spaghetti noodles, only penne so I rolled with it.

Shrimp Penne with broccoli, red peppers and goat cheese

  • 24 shrimp
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced and chopped
  • 2 crowns of broccoli
  • 1 – 2 oz goat cheese
  • olive oil
  • red pepper flakes
  • granulated garlic
  • Whole wheat penne or spaghetti noodles

I’ve made this meal so many times that I don’t really measure anymore so keep in mind these numbers are my best guess. 

Directions – Peel & de-vein the shrimp.  Coat with olive oil, granulated garlic and red pepper flakes – about a teaspoon of each.  Set aside.  Cook noodles according to package.  While they’re boiling, steam broccoli in a steamer basket.  In a pan next to that, drizzle a bit of olive oil, red pepper flakes and granulated garlic and cook the red pepper.  Cook that for a couple of minutes and add in the shrimp.  Cook that.  Drain the pasta and add the broccoli and pepper/shrimp mix.  Toss with goat cheese and a splash of olive oil.

Serve it with sriracha on top.

I use to run away from srirarcha.  My brother has always loved this stuff but it kind of freaked me out.  I was worried that it would be too spicy but finally a few months ago Chris made me try it.  Guess what?  I freaking love it.  Now I’m adding it to everything.  Especially anything with goat cheese.  I don’t know what it is about that combo but it’s amazing.  Highly recommend it.

Are you guys sriracha fans?  Do you have any great recipes with it I should know about?

2 thoughts on “Better with Sriracha

  1. I’ve never tried sriracha … But goat cheese is my weakness so maybe I’ll give it a shot like you suggested! As for the chips and salsa…. I’m right there with you. It’s one snack that I just can not pass up… And once I start I dont stop!

Leave a Reply

