Sweat is fat crying

And there were plenty of tears shed in my gym tonight.

But before we get to my sweaty workout, let’s rewind a bit.  To this morning.  When my gym bag was all packed up and ready to head out the door at 6:30 for an early morning workout.  Except when the alarm went off Chris said he wasn’t really feeling the gym so we slept in a little bit.  In hindsight, I’m thinking we really should have gotten up because I ended up getting pulled into a couple of meetings and by the time I could get to the gym it was almost 4 and I really wasn’t feeling a workout and by the time I got in the car with Chris I was in a super crabby mood.

Thankfully I have an understanding husband who could tell that I was not going to be a fun person to hang around until I was able to fit in a sweat session so he offered to handle all the house duties – garbage/recycling take-out, walking the dog and making dinner while I spent some time in the janitor’s closet gym. What a guy I married :)

I decided to try the Fitnessista’s summer shape up workout 1.  You can learn more about the entire summer shape up here.  She is my absolute favorite fitness blogger and you need to go check out her site.  She’s always posting great workouts and does a summer and winter shape up.  I won’t be following this whole thing but I probably will be getting occasional workouts from it.  Here’s her print-out of the workout and you can see the explanations here.

It involved doing this 3 times through:

  • Bicep curl & plié squat with upright row
  • Push-up & toe touch
  • Bent-over row & tricep extension
  • Step up with knee lift
  • V-up & superman
  • Walk the plank & mountain climbers

And followed it up with a 5 minute warm-up on the bike followed by 25 minutes of high intensity interval training (HIIT) cardio also on the bike.  For 30 seconds I stood out of the saddle, cranked up the resistance and rode as fast as I could and then I recovered for 1:30.  I did this until I reached 30 minutes and all my crabbiness had disappeared.  It’s amazing what a good sweat can do for you.

And because I want to encourage you all to workout, I’m giving you a little tour of my home gym. It’s a huge mess right now and I barely have any space to do anything but I still did it.  Was my workout as intense as it would have been if I had the space of a gym studio?  No.  But it was a workout.  I’m fortunate to have a spin bike but even if you don’t, you can do HIIT’s by jogging in place for the 1:30 and then doing jumping jacks for 30.  No excuses.  You won’t find that here.


But you will find tasty dinners.  Like this one we had tonight (note, our meal plan for the week has been switched up a bit.  Sometimes you gotta go with the flow).

Turkey Burrito Bowl

  • Lean, ground turkey breast
  • Taco seasoning
  • Fat-free zesty salsa re-fried beans
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Low-fat sour cream
  • 1 can of corn
  • Salsa (we use Emerald Valley’s “Hot”)
  • Spinach

Cook turkey and taco seasoning in one pan while warming up the beans in another.  Layer a bowl with spinach, beans, turkey, corn and cheese.  Top with sour cream and salsa.  Eat.  Enjoy.

And now I’m off to watch Grimm and maybe later, have some popcorn.  In the summer we catch up on shows we haven’t seen before.  We have about 20 episodes to get through before they expire from On Demand on Saturday.  So far it’s a pretty good show plus I love that it’s filmed in Portland.

Question for you – are any TV shows filmed in your hometown?  Does it make you more likely to watch them?

11 thoughts on “Sweat is fat crying

  1. I would definitely be more likely to watch a show if it was filmed in my area. I live in a super small town so no chance of that happening :)

    I have started my home gym in our basement. So far I have a treadmill and a tv :) Hoping to add an elliptical, bike, and some weights one day. So thankful for my treadmill!

  2. I love finding shows on demand in the summer when nothing else is on! Grimm is actually one that I didn’t fully love but did enjoy watching an episode here or there.

    On a side note, my work care makes these amazing veggie/shrimp stir frys and I found out today you can do siracha instead of the other sauces. How spicy would you say it is? I’m so curious to try it!

    • I could see that about Grimm. Mostly I like watching it to see the Portland references but could see how I’d get bored if it took place somewhere else. So that stir-fry sounds delish! Maybe ask for light sriracha? and then get a little on the side if you want more? I don’t think it’s that hot. I’d say hot sauce and cayanne pepper are hotter. I’m putting it on foods that are already seasoned with red pepper flakes and I’m fine. It adds heat but it’s not unbearable as long as you’re not putting tons on there. Let me know how it goes.

  3. Wow that turkey burrito bowl looks amazing!! and you’re so lucky to have a gym in your house – i don’t even have weights yet!
    Do you have any tips for new bloggers? I just recently started a blog, and would love any advice you have! comininhot.wordpress.com

    Thanks :)

  4. That turkey burrito bowl looks yummy! Although I live in Eugene, OR and not Portland I still love watching shows that were filmed in Portland. I love seeing places on tv I’ve been before. I really like Grimm and of course Portlandia!

      • I like it, I have only watched the first season also. I think some of the things they make fun of Portland for are pretty funny and sometimes quite accurate!

Leave a Reply

